I gave in. I got an iPad Pro.

Ish
5 min readFeb 21, 2016

--

As soon as the iPad Pro hit stores I went out and checked them out. To be honest, my initial impression was lukewarm at best. The display model, sporting mostly stock apps, just felt like a big iPad. If anything, it actually seemed like too much. I could see it having potential, but the hardware seemed more advanced than the software. That, combined with my disappointment that 3D Touch wasn’t included, left me with no burning urge to spend big bucks on one. In fact, I unintentionally talked a few friends out of getting one because I felt like there just wasn’t a big enough difference from the existing experience to justify the price.

A few weeks ago, a new app idea came to me. Honestly, it might be one of the best idea I’ve ever had outside of marrying my wife. Immediately, I knew that it was a perfect fit for the Apple Pencil (even though a Pencil won’t be required). I can’t wait to share more details about the app, but I digress. Last week, while working on existing projects, I noticed that the gentleman sitting across from me had an iPad Pro so I started asking him questions about his experience with it. By the time I finished grilling the poor guy, my interest was piqued again. That evening I went to the Apple Store. In fact that evening, the next evening, and every day for 3 consecutive days, I went to the Apple Store to test out the display models and contemplate if I should wait for a smaller Pencil enabled device (iPad Air 3?), if I should wait for 3D Touch, or if I should wait for the second generation. I talked it over with my wife and on day 4, I came home with an iPad Pro, an Apple Pencil and a Smart Cover.

All of my first impressions from that initial visit to the Apple Store back in December were wrong. Using the iPad Pro has been a completely different experience for me than “testing” it in the Apple Store. Will it replace my beloved MacBook Pro? Of course not. But only because the iPad Pro doesn’t run Xcode and Sketch. These, honestly, are the only things keeping me tied to my laptop. I say this as a person who had no desire to replace his laptop with an iPad. It’s just that now I kind of dread going back to the laptop for “real work”. The iPad Pro is simply a more enjoyable experience because touching content is more enjoyable than trackpads and mice. It’s lighter, thinner, easier to carry, with an OS and App Store that get more attention. Oh and it’s also blazing fast. The iPhone 6S is ridiculously fast. The iPad Pro is faster.

Here are a few things that surprise me about the iPad Pro:

I feel like marketing dropped the ball.

The first day I brought my iPad into my local Starbucks. I was immediately asked by what became a gathering crowd, what it was. “It’s a new iPad?” or “When did it come out?” or “ Why haven’t I heard about this?” were common questions. Followed by “Can I try it?” More than a couple people in that crowd had genuine expressions of glee as I guided them through some of my favorite apps and a few expressed new plans for their birthday wish lists and tax return spending plans. I show off gadgets all the time. This is by far the most excited people have been about their experience trying out anything that I’ve shown. I think Apple marketing is dropping the ball with the iPad Pro. It’s my personal opinion that part of the reason iPad sales are down is because potential customers don’t even know it exists.

It's big in a good way.

One of the reasons I decided not to wait for a smaller iPad is because the iPad Air is a two-handed device. If I’m going to be using two hands anyhow, I might as well get the larger screen. The iPad Pro isn’t big in a cumbersome way, it’s big in an immersive way. Big, in the way, I felt the first time I watched a big screen TV. It’s… wow. At the same time, if we’re comparing it to a non-tech thing, do you know how big it is? Its about the size of a magazine. And depending on the publication, it’s lighter.

The keyboard is different.

Maybe somehow I missed it in all the reviews I read, but the software keyboard for the iPad Pro is a full-size keyboard. What this means is that the number keys show without tapping shift and most of the special characters are available without switching the keyboard into a different mode. It took me the first day to get used to this. If you want to type ‘%’ for example no need to tap shift, just long press on the ‘5’ key and drag up. Also without intending to I noticed that I was touch typing on the iPad Pro. Since the full keyboard is available, I really don’t have to look to type on the software keyboard. This is amazing to me.

The Apple Pencil is just WOW 😍

I can’t say enough great things about the Apple Pencil. I don’t feel like a competent enough writer to describe it in a way that would do it justice. It’s a digital tool that doesn’t feel like one. If you get an iPad Pro, do yourself a favor and get a Pencil. It’s an incredible feat of engineering. It’s also another place where I feel marketing isn’t doing the best job.

The price for the silicone case is ridiculous

Apple Care $99

Deductible $49

Smart Cover (protects the 12.9" multitouch screen, also folds to support the iPad in an upright viewing or slightly elevated typing setup) $59

Silicon Case (protects the logo in back) $79

The price for the silicon back cover is ridiculous. I found this combined front and back iPad Pro case on Amazon for $13.99. I will admit that it’s not as nice as Apple’s. It’s about 85% as good and costs 90% less.

I’m not even sure I’d want 3D Touch on this

This might be the biggest shocker to me, but as much as I love 3D Touch, I’ve come to realize that it might not make much sense on a two-handed device. The force from a 3D Touch type press, more often than not, would send the iPad Pro in a direction I would never want it to go (i.e. towards the ground or tipped over on a desk). What would be cool though, would be special UI interactions with the Apple Pencil, like selecting text by dragging across it. That would be very cool.

Final thoughts.

If you noticed, I didn’t get the Smart Keyboard. I’m sure I will check it out in the future but it wasn’t a really priority for me. If we get an iOS version of Xcode in the future, my answer for that will change. I also didn’t mention which version I got. I chose the Space Gray, 128 GB, AT&T version. Turns out they have a $0 down, $54/mo for 20 months option that sounded attractive. Might be way to go if you’re budget conscious.

--

--

Ish

Indie iOS developer (@CapsicumApp ,@StampPack) who supports other independent developers. Enjoys long walks up the UIResponder chain. Lover of all things 