Is ‘Swift Playgrounds’ for Kids?

Ish
1 min readJun 19, 2016

I’ll be honest. The first time I launched Swift Playgrounds on my iPad, I was transported back to when my 4th grade teacher, Mrs. Mead, showed me a computer for the first time. Of course, the ‘Learning to Code’ tutorial is far cooler than using Logo was. Also, Byte is far cooler and more expressive than the turtle of my youth, but the feeling is the same. That excitement is something I haven’t felt many other times, the introduction of the iPhone being a notable exception.

The Playgrounds Books example is cool and I look forward to kids learning to code with this tool. That’s only the tip of the iceberg though.

For example, here’s a partial list of Frameworks that Playgrounds support:

AVKit

Accounts

AudioUnit

Accelerate

AudioToolbox

AVFoundation

CoreText

CFNetwork

CoreImage

CoreGraphics

CoreData

CoreAudio

CoreMotion

CoreLocation

CoreBluetooth

Darwin

Dispatch

ExternalAccessory

GLKit

GameplayKit

GameController

ImageIO

MetalKit

MetalPerformanceShaders

MediaPlayer

MobileCoreServices

MultipeerConnectivity

OpenGLES

Photos

PhotoKit

QuartzCore

QuickLook

ReplayKit

Social

SpriteKit

SafariServices

WebKit

While it might be true that Swift Playgrounds is for kids… Swift Playgrounds is also for me.

--

--

Ish

Indie iOS developer (@CapsicumApp ,@StampPack) who supports other independent developers. Enjoys long walks up the UIResponder chain. Lover of all things 