I look at Other People’s Jobs and Crave it

What if I had this job, I always think

Ishaque Mev
2 min readJan 29, 2024
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

His job is better than mine. It’s not earning him more than me but it seems exciting than mine. That’s my thought nowadays when I see other people doing their work.

Then I look at some other person’s and my mind changes to his job, and this cycle goes on and on for me until I realize I can’t do what they are doing. I see my lawyer brother, and would sometimes think what if I were a lawyer, sometimes what if I had a business, and all these random thoughts of what ifs.

One thing that I know for sure is I won’t earn the same pay anywhere else as in my current profession, but I also never consider any profession inferior then mine.

Then why do I get these feelings? I don’t know the answer, but maybe because I see people switching jobs and whole professions every one or two years, not because they want more but because they want to know what it takes to do it. They want adventure in the work, and they enjoy it. They might not earn too much this way, but they earn enough to feed the family.

I have never done any physical strength job, so I don’t even know if my body can manage it, and I’ll never know until I do it.

After six-plus years in my current profession, suddenly I am feeling like I don’t enjoy it anymore, how could that be possible, again I don’t have any answer.

Maybe it’s not the job, it’s something else. I now have great interest and excitement in writing, even if no one reads it right now. But this thing is giving me more joy than my primary job.

Maybe something will change, hopefully. Will definitely give update. Until then, Goodbye.

If you like my writing, you can support me by buying me a coffee.

--

--