Why I want to be a Product Manager?

Isha Tripathy
3 min readDec 10, 2022

--

(Image via Google)

After finishing my MBA, I joined my first job. As a fresher I was wondering if this is what I want to do for the rest of my life? or is there something else for me? Throughout my career path I got an extensive and enriching exposure on several aspect of technology and management. However, a couple of years back I started developing my interest in Product management and it kept on growing since I joined my current company as an Associate product manager. Here I find it so fascinating to work closely with the people that drive the business.

I believe product management is the most interesting job in today’s era. This is one of the most rewarding jobs, gives you a generous salary and a wide aisle for growth. It is easier for a product manager to reach leadership roles. One of the most exciting things about being a product manager is you will get to build a product from a scratch. You will see it entering the market, you will see the sales goes up n down, you will work on product lifecycle then you will relaunch. Ultimately you will build something that can be life changing for people. As a product manager the need to answer why, what and how opens up a whole different world of learning. A product manager is someone who has 360-degree perspective of each product. They are the most impactful decision maker in an organization.

As per me product management role is one of the most prestigious positions in an organization. A product is the core of any organization and a product manager is responsible for everything around it. I find it very fascinating how a product manager works from setting the objective for the product to managing the product life cycle. This is a job that has a wide variety of roles, responsibility and areas of impact. This is the only role in an organization where one’s day to day work will never be monotonous. Chances of job dissatisfaction will be less if you’re really into it. Because you will work with various stakeholders. One day you will be discussing with the sales team that why a particular product is not performing well in a market another day you will be working with the tech team, another day you will be working on management team on product strategy and the next day you will be involved with your target customer to understand their pain point and preferences.

A Product manager’s role is all about understanding customer’s pain point and solving their problems. Till now my life has led me to curiosity, creative thinking and problem solving. Whenever I spot a problem, I instantly go into thinking, analyzing and start running quick calculations in my head, draw rough ideas to solve the problem. Also, I come from a B. Tech plus MBA educational background and as a product manager I will get that opportunity to utilize my technical and managerial skills together. Hence, I believe that product management is the perfect career choice for me and I am a perfect fit for such role.

--

--