From the Mat to Real Life: How BJJ and Judo Helped Shape My Character

Ishmael Williams - The Shepherd
4 min readMay 2, 2023

--

TL;DR: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and Judo are more than just sports, they teach valuable life lessons. BJJ and Judo are for the strong, mobile, and intelligent. Knowing who you want to be and being true to yourself is crucial. Martial arts is a physical manifestation of philosophy, where humility and respect are paramount. Through these disciplines, I have learned the importance of hard work, persistence, and self-discipline, which have helped shape my character on and off the mat.

Martial arts is not just a physical activity; it’s a philosophy that can transform your character. Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and Judo have been a part of my life for years, and I’ve learned valuable lessons from them that have helped me grow as a person. In this blog post, I’ll share five lessons that I’ve learned from BJJ and Judo that have helped shape my character.

Firstly, BJJ is for the strong, mobile, and intelligent. In BJJ, you use technique and leverage to defeat your opponent, not brute strength. This principle has taught me that strength is not just physical; it’s also mental. It takes mental strength to keep pushing forward, even when you’re tired or facing a difficult situation. BJJ has also taught me the importance of mobility; being able to move your body in different ways is essential in both martial arts and everyday life. Lastly, BJJ requires intellect; you have to think on your feet and come up with a strategy to defeat your opponent. This lesson has translated to real-life situations where I have to use my intellect to solve problems.

Moving on, falling is just dry drowning- Judo. In Judo, you learn how to fall properly, which is essential to avoid injury. But beyond the physical aspect, falling is a metaphor for life. We all fall at some point, but what matters is how we get back up. This lesson has taught me resilience and the importance of getting back up when life knocks you down.

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Moreover, you have to figure out what kind of man you want to be and obey it at all costs. In martial arts, you have to define your principles and values and stick to them. This principle has taught me the importance of integrity and staying true to myself, even in the face of adversity. It has also taught me that it’s okay to have a strong sense of self and not let anyone sway me from my beliefs.

Additionally, martial arts are just a physical form of philosophy. The techniques you learn on the mat can be applied to real-life situations. Martial arts have taught me the importance of discipline, hard work, and dedication. These are essential qualities that I’ve carried over to my personal and professional life.

In addition, BJJ and Judo have taught me the importance of humility. On the other hand, you can be a black belt in martial arts and still have much to learn. There’s always someone better than you, and this principle has taught me to be humble and always strive to learn and improve myself.

Finally, BJJ and Judo have taught me the importance of respect. Respect for my opponents, my coaches, and myself. In martial arts, you learn to respect your opponents, even in competition. This principle has taught me the importance of treating others with kindness and respect, regardless of differences.

In summary, BJJ and Judo are more than just martial arts; they’re a way of life. I’ve learned valuable lessons from these disciplines that have helped me grow as a person. BJJ has taught me the importance of mental strength, mobility, and intellect. Judo has taught me resilience and the importance of getting back up when life knocks you down. Additionally, martial arts has taught me the importance of integrity, discipline, and dedication. It has also taught me the importance of humility and respect. These are all qualities that I strive to embody in my daily life.

To conclude, BJJ and Judo have helped shape my character and made me a better person. These disciplines have taught me valuable lessons that I will carry with me for the rest of my life. I encourage anyone interested in martial arts to give B

--

--

Ishmael Williams - The Shepherd

Curious Artist, Philosopher, Writer, Software Developer, and Pianist. "My mind is a rabbit hole" - Ishmael Williams