The joy of heavy lifting

Ishwinder Kaur
2 min readJul 23, 2023

--

My favorite thing to do every weekend is to go to a national park somewhere close to our house and then bring out the carrier, put my daughter in it and just go for a walk with my husband.

My husband walking ahead holding my hand every time we hit a slope or a slippery rock is as comforting as hot cup of cacao.

On our bush walks, we have been stopped by women a couple of times who have asked my husband why he isn’t carrying our daughter. I immediately respond with, ‘I love carrying our daughter’. He is really making a sacrifice when he lets me carry her.

Its an absolute joy to be so physically close to our daughter and be a part of the awe she experiences as discovers the green landscapes around us.

The wonderful thing about having a husband who doesn’t need to re-affirm his masculinity every step of the way is that he will let you enjoy the thrill of doing the hard things.

I have always lifted my own luggage. I love driving when we go out as a family. I love jumping out to fill in the petrol. And, I love carrying my daughter.

If you have grown up as a woman in India, there are often tasks that you are not allowed to do because you are a woman.

I love living at a time in history and in a country where I can do everything I want without feeling like I am breaking a gender norm or compromising my safety.

I love doing the hard things and yes, that’s my feminism and sense of equality talking.

--

--

Ishwinder Kaur

In Sydney. Data Analyst. Love hiking. I write about overcoming the guilt of taking my place in the world. I act kindly, dress practically, live passionately.