Week Eight

Isiah Steven Parfait
1 min readJul 18, 2018

--

July 9th — 13th, 2018

When I was in Spain my friend told me this old adage, “After you’ve traveled, you will never be completely at home again, because part of your heart will always be elsewhere. That is the price you pay for the richness of loving and knowing people in more than one place.” I feel that way completely about Orlando. It’s just very amazing how communities place varying cultural emphasis on different parts of their collective lives. I have enjoyed working in this space and on a personal level it has taught me how to be and to not always take things personally.

I don’t have much to say. This week I finished my second project for StarterStudio and have been working on my own. Due to unforeseen circumstances my diversity presentation was cancelled. But, I am unbothered by this. We are doing our best, but most importantly we are doing. Hopefully, next week will be a bit busier. We have more than five community events scheduled. These events very in soft skill training and other entrepreneur-focused opportunities for our members. It’s how Starterstudio works to encourage engagement and fellowship among our members.

--

--

Isiah Steven Parfait

Studying policy at the intersection of identities in order to promote laws and institutions that empowers everyone.