A Manifesto For Us, Who Are Still Alive

Isis Nelson
3 min readJul 8, 2016

--

(TW for swear words, death, speech about violence and police brutality.)

Revolution doesn’t come peacefully. It isn’t televised, there are no roundtables about overthrowing archaic, oppressive systems. Revolt is inherently explosive and combative. There comes a time in every movement when the camel’s back is broken. Before this, however, is this phrase: something’s gotta give.

The idea of peaceful protesting our way to freedom sounds nice, it’s not only unrealistic, but also paternalistic. The black population will not sit neat and tighty while innocent men are killed by police. No revolution has ever done its job by just waiting and holding signs. If authority refuses to hear our voices, or even acknowledge the suffering, we’re left with few choices.

I’ll be honest: cops dying doesn’t bother me. I can’t feel anything for them, not now, at least. Police in America often forget that they’re supposed to protect all of the people, not just the white or wealthy. Silence when other officers murder people is consent and complicity. Keeping your mouth shut when oppression reigns is taking the side of the oppressor.

“Blue lives” don’t matter until every citizen, black, brown, latinx, rromani, white, indigenous, Asian, multiracial, is treated fairly and equally. Skin tone is not a crime. Blackness is not a crime. Whiteness is not a Get Out Of Jail Free Card.

To quote NWA, “fuck tha police”. No one deserves to die in custody of the people who swore to protect us. Cops aren’t above the law. What is “justice” when citizens are murdered? Answer: nothing.

Solidarity is key in moments like these. I know it feels like our country has been burning for years now. Tamir, Sandra, Eric, Mike, Alton, Philando — just to name a few. Their lives can’t be allowed to be taken so quickly and without consequences. We have to stay together, united in our pain, strife, and hurt. Protect each other, love each other. Revolt while holding hands with your friends, fellow protesters, and activists.

There aren’t any excuses for the crimes against humanity committed by authorities. I don’t know all the answers to solving the abundant and systematic racism within the institution of American criminal justice. I just know it has to change. The change will be years too late, the victims of police brutality won’t be revived, and our grief will live on, but it’ll be enough for now.

We have time to save future generations from completely unnecessary violence. We must use it to the best of our ability. I don’t want any child to see the things I’ve seen my entire life. I want them to have some form of innocence because I didn’t, and I am not okay.

I’m 15 and I’ve been scared of the cops as far back as I can remember. I’m multiracial (black/white/?), but I identify with blackness more than anything. I could be killed because of my skin color at any time. I am so afraid of becoming a hashtag or someone that will rest in power.

However, I’ll be damned if I let my distant siblings die for naught. Even if I can’t protest directly, I’m going to make noise online for as long as I can. Black lives matter, they always have, and I’m willing to fight for us. I hope you are, too. Stay safe out there.

P.S. Rest in power, Alton and Philando. Your lives aren’t and will not be forgotten.

--

--