Joining HiveMQ to Work Towards MQTT Domination in IoT

Ian Skerrett
2 min readSep 29, 2020

This week I joined HiveMQ as their Head of Marketing. Over the last two years, I have been consulting with HiveMQ, in the capacity of their part-time Head of Marketing. Now, it made sense for me to join them full time and leave the consulting world behind.

HiveMQ is an amazing company that is ready to take off. There are a number of reasons I joined them:

  • Christian and Dominik, the co-founders are great people. They care about their employees and their customers. HiveMQ employees are passionate about their work but have lots of fun together. HiveMQ is manical about being customer centric and it has paid off. Customers love the product and people in the company.
  • HiveMQ has a list of marquee customers that most start-ups would die for. Over the last two years I have focused on writing case studies about these customers. Large multi-nationals like BMW, Daimler, eCarx, Liberty Global , Fortum, Hytera and successful startups like Flo (recently acquired by Moen), Matternet (UPS partnership for drone delivery), and Awair (top environmental sensors). All real IoT production applications successfully deployed.
  • HiveMQ is dominant in the Automotive Connected Car industry. BMW, Audi, eCarx plus a number of tier 1 suppliers have standardized on MQTT and HiveMQ. I believe IoT infrastructure technology, like MQTT, needs to be marketed by industry vertical. HiveMQ is dominating in automotive and mobility solutions. From Connected Car, we can move into fleet management, logistics, and many other industries. I see MQTT becoming the standard in manufacturing, public transit, electricity grids and many more.
  • HiveMQ is well positioned to be the multi-cloud MQTT solution for the industry. MQTT has become the de facto IoT standard. Most IoT platforms support MQTT, as do the big cloud vendors, AWS IoT and Azure IoT. However, Azure and AWS only provide partial support for MQTT. As companies need to embrace a multi-cloud strategy for their IoT deployments, they will need an MQTT solution that is multi-cloud. Azure and AWS lock customers into their ‘proprietary’ version of MQTT with their own SDK and limited support of MQTT. Customers will need an alternative solution and HiveMQ is will suited to be this solution.

HiveMQ is on a roll. I can’t wait to see what the next couple of years will bring the company and the industry. It is clear to me that MQTT is dominating in IoT. HiveMQ is helping companies deliver successful MQTT deployments. It seems to me HiveMQ is about to take-off. I am glad to be on board.

I will be doing most of my blogging on the HiveMQ blog. However, I might still do the occassional article here.

--

--

Ian Skerrett

I advise companies about open source communities, marketing strategies, developer marketing, IoT, and more. Former VP of Marketing@HiveMQ and VP Mktg@Eclipse