Why I work at Benevity

Jim Olson
3 min readDec 4, 2015

--

Benevity is growing by leaps and bounds. I thought I would share a few thoughts about why I work here in case anyone else out there is looking for a new gig that they can be passionate about.

Photo by Samuel Zeller http://www.samuelzeller.ch/

Here’s why I work at Benevity:

  • The work has incredible depth and meaning to me
  • We’re doing something no one has done before
  • I love the people I work with
  • We are changing the world

If any of that sounds appealing to you, please keep reading.

The work has incredible depth and meaning to me

When people do “good” they are often very, very serious about it. Whether it’s a donation of $25 or $50K, people have real emotional connections with the causes they donate to and volunteer for.

That feeling of purpose trickles down into what we do day-to-day at Benevity. Every day I feel like I’m making a worthwhile contribution to something significant; that the work we do as a company is impacting the world in a positive and meaningful way that everyone who works here can personally experience.

We’re doing things no one has done before

There’s a kind of energy field that surrounds Benevity and I’m convinced a lot of it comes from doing things that no one has done before. People are excited.

So what exactly do we do? Benevity is a leader in online workplace giving, donation matching, volunteering and grant management. Many of the worlds most iconic brands use our software to engage their company and the communities they operate in by allowing them to give back to the causes they care about.

There are a lot of companies in our space, but ours is the only one that is working to create an entire ecosystem that stretches around the world. No other company offers a complete suite of products like the ones we do. No other company has as broad a perspective on how we can make the whole landscape better.

I love the people I work with

There are a lot of brilliant people at Benevity. People way, way smarter than me. Leadership you can really look up to. Friends you can count on that give you honest opinions and share their ideas openly. People who will back you up when you need help.

There is a feeling of shared responsibility that is both energizing and reassuring. There is room to take risks and at the same time incredibly high standards for what is true and right. We learn from our mistakes and are pushing to make our products better at all times. We’ve come a long way but there’s still so much left to do.

We are changing the world

I’m honestly not making any of this up. In terms of numbers, as of November of this year, that translates into 20 million donations from around 2 million donors. About $500 million this year alone. And this really is just the beginning of our vision. I think the work we’ve got planned for 2016 is the most exciting stuff we’ve ever decided to do. The anticipation is nearly killing me — I almost wish Christmas was over with so we could get started a little sooner. Almost :)

Benevity has recently opened an office in Victoria, British Columbia and is looking for talented web developers (especially the front-end kind). Our offices in Calgary and Oakville are also currently hiring for various roles. Please check out our job openings or see what people are saying about us on glassdoor.

--

--

Jim Olson

I like the web, design & code. Director of Product Design @benevity. Frequenter of pubs. Fierce Canadian.