I have 12 Weeks to Make $100

Allison
2 min readJan 16, 2023

--

Me circa 2030 (I hope)

Hi! This is Allison.

This year, I decided to try out a new goals framework. It’s called the 12-Week Year and was created by Brain P. Moran and Michael Lennington. Boiled down, the 12-Week Year consists of setting 3 goals to pursue over the course of 12 weeks. I’d say it stands on 3 key principles: planning, tactics, and measurements. If you’re interested in learning more, I’d highly recommend you give the book a read.

Now, on to my goal and the purpose of this post.

Goal #2: Earn $100 in revenue

For the longest time, I’ve dreamed of building my own projects and making a living from them. But for one reason or another, I never got around to making any money. So how did I think I was eventually going to achieve my dream and make enough to survive and pay rent? This time, I decided to take it seriously and this post acts as my accountability (another key principle from the book).

To start it off, I brainstormed 100 potential ideas to pursue. My ideas include primarily digital products like templates, courses, or design goods (I’m a full-time product designer so I figure I can put some of that to good use!) and a few physical products. Each week, I’ll select one and execute it. That means taking an idea from a bullet point all the way to a live offer with a business model.

My 100 potential ideas

So I have 12 weeks to make $100 in revenue. Should be simple enough right? Wish me luck. It’s go time.

“Most of us have two lives: the life we live and the life we’re capable of. Never settle for anything less than what you are capable of. You have everything you need to be great right now.”

- The 12 Week Year by Brian P. Moran & Michael Lennington

Want to see if I reach my goal? Follow my journey. I’ll be posting weekly updates and learnings. Thanks for reading!

--

--

Allison

Chasing my dreams. I write about my journey to passive income and building SaaS products like https://thesidekick.app/ and more. Come follow along!