The Year 2112: A glimpse into the future or a terrifying nightmare?

Anks
6 min readDec 12, 2023

--

Travel to the future and discover the shocking consequences of our today’s actions..!!

Nightmare

Read the year again, it is not a typo. I am writing the scenario of year 2112, in various top notch career options of today their future prospects with AI.

A scene of Delhi Olympic 2112

It is the final of robo singles. I wanted to mention men but I know that it is just an outfit of a traditional man on the badminton court, but under the clothes it is an AI enabled robotic machine. Opponent is also another robotic machine. You might be wondering why humans are not playing now? Do the players stop playing or no longer feel the fun in playing sports? Let me take you back in time. In the decade of 2020s we have started creating AI enabled robots who played very well against professional athletes, sometimes they overpower the opponents but their ability to quickly learn from the opponents and beat them is something that did not let real humans play against them.

With time our sports community and clubs thought of getting them trained well and playing against each other like we used to do in the decade of 2010 in college robot wars and bring real humans to watch and have fun during the decade of 2040s.

Given a lot of background, let’s come back to the final now. Robo-X781 from India is leading by 7–6, against Robo-Z£90 (JAPAN). It’s more than 36 minutes of the continuous rally with no points to any player. I am an old school man feeling bored so now I am going out to see what people are doing in MNCs, as I have spent a large part of my life there.

A scene of £§£™, a business tycoon with more than 20K employee at a time

Came to the office premises, all desks are empty, only a few humans are there less than 3 digits in total. Well suited sitting with a lot many items to eat and drink, but what those aren’t looking like our traditional food looks like pastes and medicinal tablets. Couldn’t resist going there and asking them. Wondering if everyone is able to see and hear me? I think no one I took one glass and put it on the floor, one out of them took something out of their drawer and kept it on the table, pressed some pulse point or button (I don’t know what) It turned into some helmet like structure. He put it on, and asked me who are you from which planet are you here, I replied from planet Earth in the year 2023. He laughed and replied it is 2112, that’s the reason we were unable to see you.

I asked them if you people are not working. Seeing emails etc. He took me to one system and said now we don’t work, we just put AI to work and eat, sleep, talk repeatedly?

I wondered and asked what are you eating, medicines?

He replied, no this is our food. Your kids’ generation or probably grand kids’ generation killed all the fertility of the Earth so we take all required nutrients from chemical based medicines that is our food.

I asked him: How do you commute now?
He replied: Where do you wanna go, I will take you in a split of seconds, just come with me and see it for yourself.

This is something exciting. I asked him to take me to the Himalayan ranges filled with snow as that is something always fascinating to me.

He grabbed my hand, tapped on his eyewear on helmet and fed the destination then snapped in less than 2 seconds we were on Himalayan ranges.

A Scene of Himalayan Ranges

We have reached to Himalayan ranges but it was looking like Aravali hills during summers. Those who have never seen how it looks, It turn out without grass and looks like a stone filled land.
I asked him, this used to be a snow filled glacier where does that snow went?

He replied: Due to global warming they evaporated.
I asked: Then how do you manage to drink water?
He replied: We have developed so many techniques for that, like those who are super rich have a water converter from air installed in their homes and those who are poor get subsidised tablets to clean water. They can find any water just put one tablet in 100 litres of water and it turns clean, odour and bacteria free.

I asked does this not create health issues for you?
He replied: No health issues if you regularly reinstall the organs and skin, you can at max delay it for 10% of time if you delay more than that, it might be serious trouble and your doctor can not help you to survive.
This answer put me in high curiosity about an installable organ, what is it? I asked him to take me to the place where we do this? You must be calling it a hospital, right?

He replied: No we don’t call is hospitals we call it “reserving organs”

I asked: “Reserving Organs”? You are reimplanting organs as you said, why do you call it reserving?

He laughed out loud… and said I will tell you during travel to “reserving organs”
By now I am 100% sure that he is going to inject something in me which can help me understand the whole logic in 10 seconds.

I think he sensed that, and politely said don’t worry we will be going slow this time.

Did the same travel trick with putting time on that device, and started the conversation.

He started: So now when a human baby gets birth we keep them in an artificial womb for 3 days after birth and take their organ tissues out. Make the duplicate organs from those tissues then preserve them. This is the organ which used on certain period of time exchangeably, we take organ out from body and put it to cleaning kit and install the other one. Repeat the same process on your next visit. This is not difficult because you can reach your “reserving organs” centre in a snap of your finger. So it is easy to reach there and replace it. You can consider it like clothes of your time.

I was super surprised by now, and asked so which organs do you reinstall in your body, he started -

  1. Eyes
  2. Lever
  3. Tongue
  4. Taste Buds
  5. Ears
  6. Nails
  7. Hair
  8. Eye lashes
  9. Skin

As I heard the skin, I instantly asked a small part of the skin, isn’t it? He replied, no whole skin.

I immediately woke up from this nightmare and thought of sharing this thought to the whole planet in 2023. We can take some decisions to avoid such bad climate changes now and leave this planet worth living a happy life for our upcoming generations.

Wrapping Up!

I don’t have the power to wrap this up alone, but definitely we all have it together. Let’s make a pledge to think more about this and figure out what and how we can contribute to make this planet better for our upcoming generations. This is something we have got from our ancestors, no matter good or bad, we should not whine but should make it better than what we have received. I am not going to give you any concrete action plan today but you can choose on your own and can put down your thoughts for everyone else.

It is my first fictional story over to internet.

If you are still here consider claps 👏 for author’s encouragement.

You can clap upto 50 times, just in case you don’t know.

Wow, thanks for sticking with me until the end! I really appreciate you taking the time to read.

--

--

Anks

Learning Psychology; Practicing consistency; Sharing Knowledge because "Sharing is Caring" :)