5 Walt Disney World Audition Tips

What I did to book my very first Walt Disney World audition and how I continue to make a good impression with Disney as an auditioner!

Carley Heskett
4 min readJun 25, 2023
I do not speak for the Disney company. Everything is advice from my personal experiences!

A few years ago I attended my very first Walt Disney World audition, and I booked it! Since then, I have been performing full time on stage under Actors Equity Association with Disney and I continue to attend auditions and callbacks regularly with the company. There are hundreds of people that attend each open call, but I have some pointers that have helped me stand out and will help you to put your best magical foot forward!

1. Natural Makeup

Simple is the best option for Disney auditions! Casting wants to see YOU. Don’t weigh yourself down with heavy makeup. Here is a good base to follow for a natural Disney look with some of my go-to products linked:

  • Foundation: light to medium coverage foundation
  • Blush: a small amount of soft pink blush on the apples of your cheeks
  • Highlight: very minimal amount of highlight, if that, on the brow bone, inner corner of they eye or cheek bone
  • Contour: try to avoid contouring — again they want to see YOU
  • Eyeshadow: Natural shades: creams and browns. I use cream colors on my lid and browns on my crease
  • Eyeliner: a thin black or brown line on the top lid with little to no wing. Use a nude or white pencil liner on the water line! A very small amount of brown pencil underneath the water line.
  • Lashes: Black mascara on top lashes, small amount of black or brown mascara on the bottom lashes.
  • Eyebrows: Natural color fill on the brows, do not make your eyebrows too strong, pronounced or loud
  • Lips: a soft pink color

Disney loves a youthful look and these tips will help to achieve that! Highlighting the inner corner of the eye and putting white/nude eyeliner on the water line helps your eyes POP! Using soft shades of pink on your lips and cheeks matches the youthful and natural color tones of some of our favorite Disney characters.

2. Hair

Again, the casting team wants to see you. When it comes to your hair, you can have it natural, curled, or straight as long as your hair is out of your face! My go-to is a half up half down hairstyle with a slight curl.

3. Attire

It is important to dress for the particular audition you are attending. If it’s a movement/dance call, wear cute workout attire, like a matching workout set. If you are attending a vocal and acting audition, wear a nice dress. If your audition has both a vocal/acting portion and a movement call come prepared for both. What I recommend is to come wearing a nice, appropriate dress and bring a dance bag with your different dance shoes as well as your dance attire.

My go to dress style is a knee length a-line dress in a color that matches the role I am auditioning for, with stockings, and a pair of my nude LaDuca character heels. (Nude heels are particularly good for my shorter queens because they are the most flattering shoe style). For movement calls I wear leggings, a tight workout cropped top, and, depending on the style of dance, I wear running shoes, nude LaDuca heels or LaDuca boots. It’s important to wear form fitting clothes so they can see you and your body clearly.

4. Preparation of Material

It may sound basic, but be as prepared as you can be when entering any audition or callback. If they ask you to prepare material — be off book for it! If you are off book and don’t have to hold your sides or music in the room, it allows the team behind the table to really see you as a performer!

If you are auditioning for a specific character, watch their movie and take note of their mannerisms, vocal inflections and voice!

5. Entering the Room

The most important thing is to be yourself in the room! When you walk in the room, walk in with confidence, your head held high and show off your energy and personality. Be sure to say hello to the team and introduce yourself. OWN your time in the room! Remember, you have done the work and deserve to be there.

The Disney casting team is so supportive and they just want you to do your best. Just focus on being yourself and having FUN at your next Disney audition! Back in 2019, I was intimidated to go to a Disney audition, but with a little push from my friends and family, I decided to go for fun! It ended up working out and changed my life forever. Now I get to live my dream every single day! If you’ve ever dreamt of performing for Disney, this is your sign to go for it and audition! Check out upcoming auditions that you can attend on https://jobs.disneycareers.com/auditions and visit their instagram for info and updates.

For more audition tips or adventures of a young theater performer figuring life out, check out my website! https://www.carleyheskett.com

--

--

Carley Heskett

A storyteller on the stage, on a page and on social media. Dog Mom and Food Network enthusiast!