“Tell me about her.”

They asked him and he thought for a minute. Then he answered.

Eva Marie Soquena
2 min readJun 29, 2016

“Well, she’s complicated. No single word can describe exactly who she is.

When I first saw her, I was intimidated. She seemed like the person who knows exactly what she wants, knows how to get it, and will not settle for anything less. I see her as someone who’s stubborn and hard-headed. I thought that if I was someone she didn’t want, she’d disregard me completely. She had a smart mind and a quick mouth. It was a deadly combination.

Then I got to know her beyond those first impressions. While they proved to be true, I also found out about her weaknesses that made her seem less scary. I learned about how she cracks under pressure. How she suffers from inferiority complex. How she hates disappointing people. How she cries at the littlest things. How she gets upset at the slightest sight of disorganization — her obsessive compulsive tendencies. How she is so so scared to fail in her reaching her goals, and to fail in life.

She is a person of contrasts. At first glance, she looks snobby but once you strike up a conversation with her, you’ll realize that she is a witty and funny person, with numerous quirks. While she has a resting bitch-face, she actually loves to make people laugh with her crazy antics. She may look lady-like in her floral dresses and feminine garb, but she knows how to get down and dirty in the mountians. She does not mind being sweaty and sticky after a long run. She can be loud, yet she enjoys peace and quiet most of the time. She loves being with her friends, yet she values her me-time.

The beach is her happy place. Music is her favorite companion. Caffeine is her ultimate picker-upper. Shopping is her guilty pleasure. Running is her stress-buster. Dogs never fail to put a smile on her face. Her mom is her superhero. I only wish I could do all those things and be all those things for her.

You ask me to tell you about her and I told you all I know for now. Ask me again tomorrow and I’ll tell you more. Because I will day by day, I will always look forward to knowing more about her.”

--

--

Eva Marie Soquena

Welcome to my outlet of random thoughts! For some lifestyle blogging, check out my main at: http://itsevamarie.blogspot.com.💕