It’s all About the Bees

How the universe conspired to lead me to make honey

Debra Urbacz
5 min readJul 31, 2023

My name is Debra

I’m not sure exactly how old I was when I learned the meaning of my name, but I believe it has brought me good fortune ever since.

‘A feminine name of Hebrew origin, Debra means ‘bee’ and is the short version of Deborah. This Biblical title can be found in the Old Testament Book of Judges. Deborah was a heroine and prophetess and the only female judge mentioned in the bible.’

Whether by coincidence or by design, an association with bees in some form or another has enriched my life in so many delightful ways. To begin with it has always steered me towards taking an interest in all living creatures small and mighty, and I am happiest when I am outdoors experiencing all that the natural world can offer.

Honey bee on echinacea — author’s own

The term ‘nature lover’ is one I have been associated with, but has always left me wondering why we aren’t all lovers of nature? Nature is a true wonder and we are all nature! Apart from a genuine admiration for the industrious bee, there are other associations that have come to mind over recent years.

I suppose the obvious one is the ‘busy bee’! And yes this is something that I can definitely relate to. I have always been lucky to have possessed a great deal of energy…

--

--

Debra Urbacz

A freethinking, treehugging child of the 70s - writing - creating - connecting - community building - looking for magic in everyday things and places.