Why 80% of Developers Are Not Happy With Their Job

Iulia Puiu
5 min readAug 30, 2024

According to the 2024 Stack Overflow Developer survey:

  • 32.1% of developers are miserable at their job,
  • 47.7% are just surviving,
  • and only 20.2% are happy in their current role.

That’s a significant percentage of developers who lack fulfillment, are unhappy or are on the brink of burnout.

Photo by Igor Omilaev on Unsplash

Even in my relatively short experience as a full-time software developer (the rest is mostly freelance), I’ve struggled with burnout. After landing my first job as a software developer, I was happy for a couple of months, during which I gave my best. But somehow, over those months, I stopped paying attention to my health and self-improvement goals. Things worsened when a toxic CTO joined the team, and the company started demanding more and more from me, leading to burnout.

I eventually quit that job and was fortunate to join another company with a great work-life balance, where I felt appreciated and could work in a more relaxed environment.

Besides the obvious technical frustrations from the Developer Survey, I want to highlight the deeper reasons developers are so unhappy. I know many software engineers (some of whom are close friends), struggling with burnout, health issues, addiction, anxiety, and depression. From my…

--

--

Iulia Puiu

Self-taught software developer • React Native • Life in tech • Personal growth, Skills development & Productivity