One Hand Covering My Ass, One Hand in A Salute

What it was really like for a female in the military just after the turn of the century.

Melissa Corrigan
Served

--

Iglared, steely-eyed, at the smug man across the desk, the man who had lured me to his office with a trouble ticket for his printer and, upon my arrival, had implied in no uncertain terms that he wanted a sexual favor.

I left the space [without fixing the printer, although it most likely wasn’t “broken,” just unplugged] and stormed across a dozen frames and down two decks back to the relative safety of my desk.

It was 2004 and I was serving in the US Navy on board the USS Dwight D. Eisenhower, and this morning’s events were not a particularly rare phenomenon for me. I had already learned which men to avoid, and since I assigned out trouble tickets, I sighed as I added our ‘friend’ in the Aviation department to my list of “Always Assign To Men” and closed his ticket.

This was business as usual.

I want to make it perfectly clear: overall I really enjoyed my time in the military and would have easily completed a 20-year career if I hadn’t chosen to start a family instead. Life out on the sea was just the best.

Sunrise over the infinite horizon with a cup of coffee and a cigarette… it was such a…

--

--

Melissa Corrigan
Served

55+x Boosted Writer. Mother, partner, survivor, adoptee, veteran, entrepreneur, friend, ally, & flawed human. I seek enlightenment & growth daily.