IPL winners (2008–2016) — A flashback into IPL history

Indian Premier League(IPL)’s tenth edition is starting on 5th April, 2017. In these last 10 years, IPL saw immense popularity. 13 different teams have taken part in IPL over these 10 seasons. Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders have won the IPL trophy twice. Rajasthan Royals,Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad have won the competition once each

1. Rajasthan Royals

The first edition of IPL changed the way cricket is played. The very first match saw Brendon Mccullum of KKR smashing 158 runs. Finally, the legendry spinner Shane Warne led Rajasthan Royals to win the first edition of IPL

2. Deccan Chargers

IPL 2009, the second edition, was shifted to South Africa due to Loksabha Elections in India. This season,another Australian legend, Adam Gilchrist, led Deccan Chargers Hyderabad to win second edition of IPL

3. Chennai Super Kings

In 2010, IPL came back to India and MS Dhoni led CSK to win their maiden IPL title. CSK defeated Mumbai Indians by 22 runs in the Final. Man of the match was Suresh Raina for his 57 runs

4. Chennai Super Kings

The year 2011 should be renamed to MS Dhoni year. After making India win the World Cup 2011, MS Dhoni made his IPL team win the IPL trophy for the consequetive time

5. Kolkata Knight Riders

Bollywood superstar Shahrukh Khan’s team KKR finally won their first IPL title in 2012 under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir. In 2012, Gambhir was the costliest player in that edition’s IPL Auction and he totally proved to be worth it.

6. Mumbai Indians

The final of IPL 6 was played between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. CSK reached the final for the 5th time and MI for the 2nd. And, Mumbai Indians beat CSK by 23 runs to win their first IPL title

7. Kolkata Knight Riders

The year 2014 was amazing for Kings XI Punjab. Glenn Maxwell had an amazing season, Virendra Sehwag was in great form. But, in final, it was Widdhiman Saha who scored 115 runs in just 55 balls. Emotions were high for KXIP and Priety Zinta as KXIP scored 199 runs and gave KKR a target of 200 runs. Ahh..then came the heart break. Manish Panday scored 94 runs in 50 balls and KKR won the IPL title for the second time in last over.

8. Mumbai Indians

In 2015, it was again CSK vs MI in the Finals. Rohit Sharma played a captain’s knock of 50 runs in 26 balls. Mumbai won the final by 41 runs and also won IPL trophy for the second time

9. Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2016’s final was played between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Virat Kohli was in form of his life in this season. RCB had reached the IPL finals for the 3rd time. But, this time too they lost. Sunrisers Hyderabad won IPL — 9 after beating RCB by 8 runs

So..it’s time for the tenth edition of IPL.Write your prediction about who will win IPL 2017 in comments

Originally published at www.cricscoop.com on April 4, 2017.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.