Why I will be writing about Machine Learning and Deep Learning

Gerald Muriuki
2 min readJul 18, 2018

--

If you want to master something, teach it. — Richard Feynman

TLDR: writing as proof of work

This blog post won’t be long. I don’t intend to waste your time by telling you why I do things the way I do them as my circumstances are definitely different from yours.

I started on Data Science as a hobby then found myself spending most of my time on it. This goes without saying that most of the skills I’ve since acquired are self-taught. The approach I took was breadth first then depth.

The plan was to first get basic working knowledge of the field then dive straight to doing projects this and this. So far so good. One thing still bothers me though…how to keep track of my progress as there are no grades or levels. As such writing I believe will get me to the bottom of concepts I learn and the projects I build will demonstrate my skill. What I intend to write will not be new. I plan to just use this blog as my notebook to document what I learn and courses I pursue. I will strive to understand things clearly and explain them well.

Just to make sure I’m doing world-class stuff I will try to enter a few Kaggle competitions and try to achieve a good ranking. This will all be used as proof of work.

Thanks for reading, I appreciate! follow @itsmuriuki.

Back to learning!

--

--