Pavlovian nature to disasters

Valli Lakshmanan
2 min readJul 23, 2016

--

Ivan Pavlov made an important discovery back in the early 1900s. In his experiment, Pavlov used a bell as his neutral stimulus. Whenever he gave food to his dogs, he also rang a bell. After a number of repeats of this procedure, he tried the bell on its own. As you might expect, the bell on its own now caused an increase in salivation.

Humans, currently, are like the Pavlovian dogs.

Especially given the power to type and send a message to a cloud in an instant merely as an obligation to goodness.

Hashtags are everywhere now. So much so that, there are start-ups making money on aggregating these hashtags and pushing advertisements. So it does work for some people. Just not for the real reasons.

We can do more than just sending hashtags to an unknown destination.

There’s a wonderful line in Saving Private Ryan where the old Ryan standing at Captain Miller’s grave and tells him that “ I tried to live my life the best that I could. I hope that was enough. I hope that, at least in your eyes, I’ve earned what all of you have done for me.”

I feel like this is what we owe to the dead. By living a life worthy of life itself.

--

--