How do you build TRUST?

Iuri Matsuura
2 min readSep 22, 2017

Dictionary.com defines trust as reliance on the integrity, strength, ability, surety of a person or thing; confidence.

Think about that for a second.

Resilience, integrity, strength…all simple and powerful words. The definition is precise and succinct. But the question is: How do you achieve all of that?

One day during a job interview I was asked "How do you build trust with others?"

That question caught me off guards.

But It also helped me to reflect not only on my career but on my personal life and all the people around me. Which actions did I take or which set of skills have I demonstrated in order to build long-lasting trustful relationships with them? Here I name a few of them:

Commitment

Got an appointment with your boss tomorrow at 7:00am? Do it.
Agreed to take the children to school? Do it.
Promised to love someone forever? Do it.
Get your shit done. Consistently.

Honesty

As a rule of thumb: always tell the truth. That said, first and foremost be honest about yourself even if that reveals your vulnerabilities. Being vulnerable doesn’t mean you are weak, it means you are growing. That sort of attitude…

--

--

Iuri Matsuura

Passionate about Technology, People and Ideas. Director of Engineering @Invoice2go.