Ivan’s Three Boxes Model

Ivan Wan
5 min readApr 18, 2023

--

Box Art Design

By Ivan Wan, 2023

Descriptions:

The Installation would like to let audiences understand the journey of how Ivan Wan from living in Hong Kong before MICL to after MICL to find future possibilities.

Box 1’s theme is “The Past: Pressure”. A lot of pressure, criticism, rules, and stress from the small and hassle city “Hong Kong” make people cannot breathe. The hole on top of the box represents how narrow is the vision for people living in Hong Kong. I just used FT newspaper pictures and words (FT, 2023) to represent the dark side of my past. And people always look and you and give different judgments causing you to doubt yourself, or even in mental imbalance.

Box 2’s theme is “ The Present: Learning”. Leaving the past behind, I went on a journey of learning. Grassland and big tree represent being alive, reborn, and growing. You can see the box is opened and feel freer. Outside the box, I stuck the name tag for 1st lesson introducing himself as a bun. Through the journey in MICL, I may transform myself into a different shape and can show more personality. And the colour tone is also less depressive. Ivan absorbs new knowledge here. Each leaf’s shape is either convergent or divergent represents the creative thinking process and got different knowledge that we learn in class, for example, C= fa (K,I, E) from CPSL (Isaksen, Dorval & Treffinger, 2011), Ram’s 10 principles from LCD (Maiden, 2022), Reflection from Introduction week, IP Tree from IP Law (Ruth, 2022), Big 5 personalities from psychology class (Marie, 2023) and the most important is people, MICLers. We learn with each other.

Box 3’s theme is “ The Future: Blue Ocean”. It’s a completely closed box. People may shake it to guess what is inside. It creates uncertainty and mystery just like our future. No one will know. Outside the box, I wrote “To future self” from my current self. It’s a parcel to be sent right now to the future self as a gift and wishes. Once you open the box, you will find those are a lot of wishing jugs with wishes inside being dumped into the blue ocean for a wish comes true. Inside the jugs, you will find different characters that I want to embody. Below is the Wishlist:

The Carer: My top value is empathy. I would like to show my caring side to people and hopefully, people can respond the same to me.

The Innovator: As MICLer, we have to embrace and make use of our talent to make some change towards your society, I hope I can do so too.

The Facilitator: One of the great tools among CPS, I will try to make things work no matter regular business meetings or conflicts within the team. A good climate will give a major impact on the result.

The Explorer: I am proud to be an explorer. I can share my voice and idea with others and be able to work with developers at the same time.

The Leader: Being a leader, you have to model the way. I will remember all the time how to be a good leader. “Competence, Honest, Forward-looking and Inspiring”

The Transformer: The whole MICL journey gives me a lot of opportunity, learning and push to become a better person.

The Builder: Rome is not built within a day. I will try my very best to build something which is new and useful.

The Dreamer: Imagination is the key to creativity and mankind. Don’t stop dreaming even though you are not 5 years old.

The Richer: To be wealthy not only physically, but mentally wealth is also much more important.

Hope my future can hit one of the wish or more than one. At the same time, I can be as free as the bird from the cage and fly up high.

All in all, I used Vijay’s three boxes model (Perspectiv Video, 2020) from delivering innovation class to represent his artefact. It is a perfect match for my journey. To succeed, you have to forget the past, maximize the present and strive for the future. Hope you enjoy my design and the message behind it.

Mediums:

Basically, I want to use recycled materials to save the materials cost at the same time protect the environment. Sometimes, I think art can be inspired by everyday things and even is rubbish. So I used carton boxes from the parcel, newspaper photos and words, Xmas gift tin’s candlelight and performance props. However, it will be sometimes slightly challenging for putting all the things together. But it would be worth so and not to produce more waste for society and use the waste to create something new and inspiring.

Reference:

1. Financial Times. “News Highlight.” Financial Times, 9 Apr 2023.

2. Isaksen, S., Dorval, B. & Treffinger, D. (2011) Creative Approaches to Problem Solving. Third Edition. USA: SAGE Niel leacture notes

3. Maiden, N. (2022) Principles of good design: Qualities that design should have. Virtual, 3 Oct. London: City University of London. Available at: Online Session Recording — Monday 3rd October — The Rams Design Qualities (city.ac.uk) (13–11–22)

4. Marie, K. (2023) WK 2 Personality and Motivation, 1 Feb. London: City University of London. Available at: Moodle, City University of London (10–04–23)

5. Perspectiv Video. (2020) 05 HBR 3BoxToolkit VideoIntroduction. Available at: 05 HBR 3BoxToolkit VideoIntroduction — YouTube (10–04–23

6. Ruth, S. (2022) MICL IP Decision TreeFile, 3 Oct. London: City University of London. Available at: Moodle, City University of London (10–04–23)

--

--

Ivan Wan
0 Followers

A master's student studying creativity, innovation and leadership in Bayes Business School under City University of London.