Photography helped me get out of my comfort zone

Ivan Dojcinovski
4 min readApr 30, 2020

--

“When words become unclear, I shall focus with photographs. When images become inadequate, I shall be content with silence.”
Ansel Adams

There is no better way to start this story than quoting the father of landscape photography Ansel Adams. I never thought I will find such comfort in photography and the post-production process. It really helped me to stay present at the moment and to forget about all work-related issues and life overall.

Before I tell you the story of how photography helped me cope with everyday life, I just want to clarify a few things:

A) I am not a professional photographer. Photography is my hobby and while I love it I must say that I need to work a lot more so I can call myself a decent photographer.

B) I use photography mostly for creative expression. It doesn’t mean that my work is good or transformational but I try to improve each day.

C) My goal, for now, is to use photography for escapism. I am not planning nor I am able to sell or make money from my work.

D) I use only social media (Instagram) and a few other photography platforms to publish my work.

Ok so now you know that the purpose of this article is to tell my story not give professional tips of how to become a better photographer. Currently, I am interested in how by doing the things you love can reshape your reality and move you away from your comfort zone.

It all happened a few years back while I was working as an Audit Clerk. I felt stuck. Not because my job was bad, it’s just that I always thought that my work will involve more creativity and colour. The current career path didn’t provide that because it was all about numbers, rules and I wanted a bit more freedom.

I wasn’t quite sure about what I should do and to be honest, I still didn’t have the courage to move or change anything about my current frustration.

That changed when I saw an ad about a photography course on Facebook. I thought I should give it a try. Up till then I only used my phone for photographing nature mainly, and I wanted to learn to use a camera.

The first thing I did was a walk to a local store to buy a camera. I bought the cheapest model in the Canon series and back then that was — Canon EOS 1300D. I use this camera till this day and I recommend it to all beginners and people that use photography as a hobby.

Then, I started the course. I had one class per week and it completely reshaped my life. I learned how to use the camera and all the rules of photography. Back then it really gave me the freedom I needed and the ability to incorporate creativity in my life to some extent.

We learned about:

  • Landscape photography
  • Portrait photography
  • Abstract photography

The class had some art segments as well and we learned a lot about photography in general not just in the classroom but also in a studio and directly in nature.

Something great happened during the course. I noticed how I became more and more certain that I need to change my job and how I wanted to leave my comfort zone and start something new.

When you decide to move, even if it’s a step by step process wonderful things happen after a while. I was in the second month of the course ( the course lasted for three months) when I started actively seeking a new job, by the end of the second month I already had an offer from a marketing agency.

Finally, I started my new job as a Marketing Executive that provides the freedom I always wanted and the creativity I needed in my life.

What I learned during the process:

  1. Small steps matter and lead to a greater change;
  2. You can find the perfect solution to your problem if you just have the courage to look at things from a different perspective;
  3. When in doubt move!;
  4. Take your pleasure and your passion seriously, even if you suck at it in the beginning;
  5. Follow what comes naturally to you in terms of your interests, don’t force yourself to become something you are not, you will be much happier and have a fulfilling life;
  6. It’s ok to feel lost as long as you have a plan;

I always admired people that are certain about what they want from a very young age. Unfortunately, I am not one of those people and that’s ok! Some of us need to wander and try different stuff before we find the things that matter to us the most. That’s the ultimate lesson I’ve learned through this experience.

My photography course wasn’t in vain, here’s the best photo (in my opinion) that I took with my camera:

--

--

Ivan Dojcinovski

I can better express myself by writing. Addicted to any form of creative expression. Digital Marketing Executive for 3 years.