How does time-travelling actually work?

Ani
3 min readDec 26, 2022

--

Let’s start by explaining what a wormholes actually is and how does it work. Wormholes are a theory that hasn’t yet been seen in open space or been made(stable) in labs. They have three parts: enterance, tunel and exit. The enterance is believed to be a white hole and the exit- a black hole. Black holes are a phenomenon that contains all of it’s mass in a certain point, making the heaviest thing in the universe. It’s gravitational powers pull everything inside of it and nothing can escape, even light.

White holes are the exact opposite- all of their force is pointed out of them, pushing everything away. But where do they lead? Or come from?

This is where the tunnel between those two comes up- the Einstein-Rosen bridges. Two points in space connected by a tunnel that theoretically create a shortcut.

In order for a wormhole to be held stable we need negative energy. From the formula E=m.c² and since we know a quadrate can’t be negative, in order to have negative energy we need negative mass: -E= -m.c² Many think it’s impossible, but we can always make up theories now, can’t we?

So how does this affect time travel? Putting together what we have-a “portal”, space and time. Time can be manipulated by space. But how does time actually work? Let’s make an experiment.

We have two points- point A is my house on Earth and point B is my rocket that I’m sending to space. When my rocket leaves Earth the year is 2500. My rocket travells the speed of light to somewhere in space and comes back after 1 year of space travelling. So, my rocket crew is 1 year older. But when they come back on Earth, the year is 2510 already. I’m 10 years older. So the faster you move in space the slower the time is.

Let’s repeat the experiment but this time put a wormhole between point A and point B. The wormhole can’t have white and black holes- we’ll need something stable and safe but mostly we must be able to enter and exit the tunnel from both way, otherwise it’d be useless.

So let’s say we did come up with a plan where we can go from one side to the other and the opposite safely. Now that we have a stable portal between my house and my rocket we send our roket to space. The year on Earth is 3000. The rocket leaves and comes back at 3010. But the times on the rocket is still 3001- it’s passed just one year for them. But the portal in my house has been there for 10 years. So, if I go though the portal from the rocket I’ll be back in my house at the year 3001. If I go though the portal from my house maybe I’ll be in he rocket at the year 3011 (if it stays on Earth the whole time).

Those plans have too many theories and “if”s and even if they do work we’ll only be able to time travell from a point when time travelling had already been invented, making today a very special.

--

--