Have you ever felt like you’re not making as much progress in your life as you should?

Shadow Scribe
2 min readJul 11, 2024

--

It’s 2:00 pm and a wet Thursday as I lazily scroll through my LinkedIn…

“I’m pleased to announce I just started my ABC role at XYZ company…”

“I just concluded the level 3 of my CCC professional exam…”

“Another degree bagged from the refounding University of ZZZ…”

And the likes are endless!

Suddenly, I am filled with mixed emotions of looming sadness and jealousy. Heck! I don’t even know these strangers on the internet, yet, here I am wallowing in my state of immense dissatisfaction.

This was me a couple of years back.

Fresh out of school, completed my National Service (as is mandatory for first degree holders in my country), and in dire need of a job or business, anything at all. I had applied severally to various jobs, but only got slams of rejections or poorly compensated offers. I would regularly scroll through the social media platforms and compare my life with those of former classmates who had travelled out of the country to further their education, or for work, and those who had online businesses which seemed to be flourishing. Boy, was I unhappy with myself. I deserved better!

Fast forward to today, I have come to understand that time is the difference. I am a Chartered Accountant and I’m beginning my career on a smooth foot. And not just that, I have won in life because I am married to the most amazing man in the world. I have learnt to be grateful, to be content and the importance of having the right perspective about myself. Not to forget what the Holy Bible says about those who compare themselves to others… unwise. Hence, did I decide to pay more attention to myself, and place less focus on the people on social media.

These changed everything. And if your response to the subject of this piece was a yes, you should copy my strategy.

You can win too!

--

--