The one about the Dunning-Kruger effect

Iyebiye Olatokun
3 min readMay 27, 2023

--

Have you ever heard people talk about having an experience, but your experience with the same thing was the direct opposite? Like when people say they continued watching The Office after Michael left, but you just can’t understand why.

Aren’t we all supposed to have, like and experience the same thingsss?

Can I tell you a secret? I really really REALLY wanted to have imposter syndrome. Like really.
2/3 years ago, it was all the buzz. Everyone on Twitter said they had it, and I wanted to be able to say I had it too. I just liked the idea of not feeling good enough, when you are in fact great at what you do!

But guess what? 😭

Oh Lord

So…

This feels like a terrible career confession. Am I shooting myself in the foot? Am IIIIIIII???

Anyway, in a previous role, my ex-boss (who I don’t hate so much now) tells me “Hey, you know how to present yourself as great at what you do, but you’re not”

Guys.

I almost died.

Did this ̶g̶u̶y̶ ̶m̶a̶n̶ person just say I don’t have the Imposter Syndrome everyone has? Is he Implying I have the opposite? Like the Dunning-Kruger effect???

Bruh! I couldn’t do anything for like three weeks. Then, of course, I did all the childish things- quit his stupid* company and kept ranting until everyone got tired of me.

Then after mourning my pride and what seemed to be my whole career for three weeks (I promise it doesn’t take that long for me to bounce back anymore), and finishing what was left of my last salary on chocolate, I promised myself no one would ever give me feedback like that again.

I sat up, wiped my tears, and took my next job(s) very seriously. It’s taken a while, but I’m a hard worker now, and I don’t have to pretend like I’m good at what I do, because I actually sabi*. It turns out his feedback is one of the best I’ve ever gotten. He ripped the band-aid off, and while it hurt then, it gave me great perspective and made me hungry for excellence.

While I still don’t have Imposter Syndrome (yet 👀), I carry a real passion for excellence at what I do, and I’m way more aware that there’s so much room for improvement.

Hey! I have multiple client reviews to prove it.
You can check them out here

*The company is actually not stupid, they do amazing work, but I had to hate😬 I’ll include a link to their website, but I don’t want my ex-boss to ever find this.

*Sabi is Nigerian pidgin English and it means “to know”

Cheers!

--

--

Iyebiye Olatokun

I’m committed to building an exceptional career, but I’m also committed to making jokes about it