Photo by Ant Rozetsky on Unsplash

“So, if you are too tired to speak, sit next to me because I, too, am fluent in silence.” — R. Arnold

raine kiyoomi.

--

for me, the greatest thing we can offer to someone is to be their safe space. I believe not all are capable of doing this. Or be a safe space for someone. And it’s not bad or wrong. Because sometimes, you can be a safe space for yourself.

⠀⠀

As an introvert, I never had the confidence or chance to speak freely in front of anyone.

⠀⠀

“will they listen to me?”

will they understand what i’m saying?”

“do i have the right to talk here?”

“Do i belong enough here to talk and open?”

⠀⠀

I am always aware of my situation. And that is why I only talk to a few people. But of course, my circles are also aware that i like being quiet. That i just like hanging out without having to talk a lot.

⠀⠀⠀⠀

Not being heard, not being able to talk freely, and always shy, kind of led me to a realization.

I will use this to my advantage.

As a quiet person, i used this as an advantage to be the listener-kind of friend. I always have this ability to be able to focus on someone and just listen to them whole day. Sometimes of course it’s tiring. But most of the time, i feel great. For letting them know that they have someone to lean on to. Someone who will listen to them and be heard.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Life can be a quite journey for everyone. So, always be kind. It costs nothing.

⠀⠀⠀⠀

I always wanted to be someone’s peace. For real, the simplest thing you can offer someone when they’re in times of chaos, is peace. Quietness. If they’re too tired to speak, you can lend them your shoulders and silence, you know?

⠀⠀

⠀⠀

Sometimes, all you need is silence and peace. That’ll give you time to think clearly and be calm, right?

⠀⠀

I know, “it takes grace to remain kind in cruel situations.”

⠀⠀

⠀⠀

just take a deep breath, and just keep swimming.

--

--