Favorite Social Media Platform

Izzy Osbourne
2 min readFeb 9, 2022

My personal preferences and opinions of social media seem to change almost on the daily. I would love to say I don’t have a favorite social media platform and instead I spend my time in a much more productive manner like reading books, going on runs or perfecting my sourdough recipe. But I hate running and I'm dyslexic so instead I chose to pick up a hobby that doesn't require paperbacks or excessive movement and that vice is Tik Tok.

I think I love Tik Tok so much because everytime I open the app there is something different. This does a phenomenal job keeping their audience engaged with content and trends that evolve on the daily and keeping people coming back for more. I think the addictiveness of this platform is what makes it so interesting and effective for its users, myself included of course.

Personally, Tik Tok has become such an effective form of social media, that I have shifted away from other social media platforms such as Instagram and Twitter. Now, I rarely utilized Instagram as a personal platform at all. In fact I have had Instagram deleted for five days now(surely that won’t last much longer then when I picked up jogging). I feel that Tik Tok in a way has created a “Franken-App” in which it stitches together the most desirable and successful elements of other successful media platforms to curate the most alluring platform. And along the one-billion other users; I am hooked.

--

--