Applying to UCLA’s Design Media Arts Program: Accepted Portfolio, Application, and Advice

JOANNA CHEN
21 min readAug 2, 2021

--

Picture this. It’s the summer before your senior year of high school. You’ve decided that UCLA’s Department of Design Media Arts houses the major you would like to sell your soul for for the next four years.

So you begin searching. Searching for the legendary secrets of how to get in. Hunting for the mythical students that have experienced the program. Digging for the treasured accepted portfolio videos.

You spend hours sifting through endless pages of Google search results. You desperately punch in as many relevant terms as you possibly can into your YouTube search bar. You even enter the wonderland of Reddit and Quora in an attempt to seek out more information.

But… you end up with barely anything… not much seems to be known about this mysterious major and its application process.

Maybe that (slightly dramatic) description describes your current situation. At least, it kind of described what I experienced. Let me explain.

My Background

I’m about to be a sophomore at UCLA majoring in Design Media Arts (DMA or DESMA), but I didn’t actually apply to the program as a freshman applicant. We’ll need to take a quick trip down memory lane for this explanation.

Back when I was still a senior in high school — I say dramatically as if that wasn’t just a little over a year ago — I wanted to apply to DMA and to UCLA during the fall of 2019. Due to the lack of information I could find surrounding the program and because I didn’t think I could throw together an entire portfolio while completing college applications, I decided to apply to UCLA as a different major and see if I could transfer into DMA if accepted.

I ended up being accepted into UCLA as a Pre-Business Economics major and had a phase where I was a Linguistics & Computer Science major (don’t ask me why, we don’t talk about it) until I eventually changed my major to DMA during the spring of 2021.

The admission process for change of majors and for freshman applicants is practically the exact same. Therefore, I wanted to write this article about the DMA program and application process to provide some insight that I wish I knew before I applied. I’m also hoping this article will fill in some of the gaps of what prospective students might be wondering about.

But first off, some information about my artistic background to convince you that you don’t need a lot of formal design experience to apply.

My Artistic Background

I didn’t have a formal arts background and barely had any professional training in the arts.

I took two semesters of art class in high school: one of which was an open studio and another of which was a 2D/3D design course. I also took some private art lessons in middle and high school where I learned the basics of sketching, oil painting, watercolor, and acrylic painting. However, none of my portfolio pieces were created during my high school courses nor my private lessons.

I never submitted any of my work to major art shows, competitions, or publications. I also never attended any summer arts programs.

For example, I know quite a few accepted DMA students who have attended summer programs at RISD or submitted their work to the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, but I only participated in a few art and design contests at my high school.

Instead, most of my experience in art and design came from designing for high school projects, clubs, and just for fun.

I painted here and there and I was involved in my high school’s yearbook and art club. I made a lot of club flyers, designed my high school yearbook cover, and created Instagram posts for clubs. However, I didn’t really know how to use any of the major design programs and mainly just used Canva in high school. I would even say that I’m still in the process of learning Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, and only recently became proficient in Figma.

I did, however, join 3 UCLA organizations that were all arts related in the fall of my freshman year.

I joined Nova, Tech for Good, as a user interface and user experience designer, joined UCLA’s newspaper The Daily Bruin as a graphics intern, and an online women’s magazine called Her Campus as a graphic designer and videographer. This is where I began to learn Figma, Adobe Illustrator, and Premiere Pro. I’m also assuming these activities helped establish my intent on pursuing design in my DMA supplemental application.

Now, let’s talk about what the actual DMA program consists of.

UCLA’s Design Media Arts Program

What is it?

It’s an extremely competitive undergraduate program focused on (surprise, surprise!) design, media, and art. Okay, maybe a little bit of a useless introduction, but I want to preface this section by stating that I haven’t really gotten to experience the program due to COVID-19. I’ve only taken 3 DESMA lecture courses so far — all of which have unfortunately been online and asynchronous — and none of the required studios.

However, instead of just copy and pasting what the UCLA DMA website states, I will point out a few pieces of information I find important and some of my own perceptions.

As listed in the image below, the major itself consists of 4 lecture courses, 14 studios, and 1 senior capstone project that you take in the spring before you graduate. The lecture courses and studios are typically three hours long and the studios usually meet biweekly. For your senior project, you can decide to focus on either (1) Interactivity and Games, (2) Video and Animation, or (3) Visual Communication and Image. These courses are aside from the General Education courses you’ll need to complete in order to satisfy the School of the Arts and Architecture requirements.

DMA Major Requirements
DMA Major Requirements

Now, in terms of whether or not this program is the right fit for you, I’ve listed some things I’ve heard about the program.

The program is more concerned with being conceptual, experimental, and creative than it is with being practical, functional, or commercial.

This means that unlike other design programs, this program is closer to a fine art degree than it is to an industrial design, graphic design, or interior design degree. The program pushes you to express yourself, to tell your story, and to push the boundaries. They teach you design fundamentals and programs, but more to allow you to have the tools to experiment than to actually build your skills for a typical corporate or commercial design career.

The program allows you to dip your toes into all sorts of design, but you have to make the effort to find your focus.

From motion design, to typography, to game design, to creative coding, to 3D modeling, to video, the studios expose you to a broad range of what design consists of. From what I’ve heard from other students in the program, this is an amazing opportunity to try different things. However, on the flip side, this means that you’ll need to find your own focus or niche and learn more on your own time. You’ll need to dive deeper into the specific medium you’re interested in to strengthen your skills and to become proficient in your focus.

The program is incredibly small and selective and, therefore, provides a decent amount of individual support.

Supposedly, out of 800 to around 1,000 applicants, only around 40 spots are available each year. Most of the studios are also capped at around 22–25 students. This means that you’ll likely get to know a lot of students from DMA as it’s so small and because you’ll spend so much time with them. However, that also comes with the side effect of what I like to call “Unicorn Syndrome” where people are always in awe when they hear about your major as not many DMA students exist in comparison to the rest of the UCLA population. Could be a good thing, could be a bad thing…just know that you’ll likely be seen as the art kid if you aren’t already.

Aside from the counselor you already have through UCLA’s School of the Arts and Architecture, there’s also a designated counselor for DMA. There’s also a job feed specifically accessible to DMA students where both full-time jobs and internships are listed. Weekly emails are also sent out about any opportunities for DMA students or for UCLA students in general.

What are they looking for?

Great question, and probably one that you’re looking for an answer to, but I’m not quite sure there’s a perfect answer. Every DMA student comes in with their own skill set and own interests. The portfolio reviewers are looking for a group of diverse students in hopes of building a community that can learn from one another.

However, in terms of qualities they are looking for, they want students who are experimental, creative, innovative, fearless, passionate, driven, risk-taking, inspirational, intrinsically motivated, bold, genuine, curious, thoughtful, etc.

That might feel like a lot of expectations and a lot of things you need to embody, but personally I would say the most important piece is to just be yourself, which is definitely somewhat easier said than done and something I will explain more in the advice section.

But before that! A trip through the supplemental application!

The Supplemental Application

I’ve broken this section down into Student Activities, Influences, Statement of Interest, and Application Timeline. Read more to find out what each section entails.

If you want to look at the exact prompts and guidelines, The DMA Supplemental Application can also be found on the DMA Website under “Undergraduate” under “Apply!”.

Student Activities

In this section, I listed my awards, honors, exhibitions, internships, community service activities, and jobs and listed them as either “Arts Related” or “Non-Arts Related.”

The Student Activities I Listed

Influences

This was a 500 character response where I had to list my top 5 creative influences. These influences could consist of artists, designers, painters, directors, photographers, video game makers, or any other type of cultural producer.

Jubilee, a media group dedicated to embracing human empathy with storytelling & social experiments. Patriot Act hosted by Hasan Minhaj, who highlights current socio-political issues with the use of comedy & pop culture references. Photographer Platon who fights for civil rights movements and documents history through his craft. Rora Blue who creates community dependent projects. The art of being human: our emotions, behaviors, cultures, aspects that make us simultaneously different yet similar.

Statement of Interest

This was a 2200 character response as to why I want to study Design Media Arts at UCLA. It asks about what interests me about the program, how I think I will contribute to the culture of the department, and what are my plans for after graduation.

I’m especially captivated by the emphasis on experimentation and social driven work. As one who is still solidifying and developing my artistic voice and style, I plan to take advantage of the resources offered by this program to experiment and discover new ways to positively impact humanity through my own craft. Through encounters with new disciplines and new perspectives, I want to produce creations that are more impactful, more reflective of what society needs to be aware of, and fights for causes I believe in. Causes such as embracing human empathy and vulnerability, breaking down stigma around mental health, and discovering both what makes humans unique yet so alike with one another. This program is also an opportunity for me to engage in and contribute to the academic discourse on design ethics and media theory in regards to our current socio-political climate. I specifically want to learn more about the intersection of art, design, science, and technology, and how it is impacting our world and our culture. I wish to acquire more skills in the creation of digital media to transform my works and lines of thinking into new digital realities.

Being surrounded by peers who are also working to become more conscientious and stronger designers and faculty members who are creating ground-breaking work, will reward me with new methods of thinking and creating. I plan to foster a community where empathy, respect, and growth are most highly regarded. A culture where differences are celebrated and perfection is not the goal. An environment where the exchange of ideas and constructive critique are used to empower one another.

As for post-graduation, I ask “why decide now?” I plan to use my time in undergrad to explore the possibilities and examine which careers align most deeply with my purposes. Whether that be attending grad school to teach design or media theory in the future, becoming an artist who challenges perceptions though thought-provoking public installations, or immersing myself in the tech industry to promote human-centered and sustainable design, the Design Media Arts program will be the program most fit for my future aspirations.

Application Timeline

If you are a change of major applicant…

  1. Sign up and attend a mandatory information session in either October or November
  2. Submit your change of major petition before their early December deadline
  3. The Supplemental Application opens on January 2nd, meaning you can start filling out the application and uploading your portfolio images.
  4. Submit your final application before January 20th 11:59pm

If you are a freshman applicant…

  1. Submit your regular UC Application on November 30th with Design Media Arts as your first choice major
  2. The Supplemental Application opens on January 2nd, meaning you can start filling out the application and uploading your portfolio images.
  3. Submit your final application before January 20th 11:59pm

Portfolio Requirements

The portfolio consists of a self portrait, a word project, 5–8 unique works to show off your talents and interests, and an optional chance to submit a multimedia piece. I’ve listed crucial parts of the portfolio prompts here, but the full version can again be found in the Supplemental Application PDF on the DMA website.

1. The Self Portrait

In this assignment, we encourage you to reflect on the unique experiences, people, background, culture, history, upbringing, and circumstances that have shaped YOUR IDENTITY. Using a media of your choice, create an artwork that helps us understand who you are.

The self portrait may be one still image or a multimedia file (audio and/or video). The multimedia file is limited to 10 seconds in length. You will also have 100 words or less to describe how your piece addresses the self-portrait project.

2. The Word Project

In the media of your choice, represent or respond to the word HALT.

For additional context, please read through the DMA Flat journal on our website: http://dma.ucla.edu/undergrad/apply/2021/.

Your documentation of this project is one still image, or a multimedia file (audio and/or video). The multimedia file is limited to 10 seconds in length. You will also have 100 words or less to describe how your piece addresses the theme.

3. 5–8 Unique Works

In this category, you must upload five to eight (5–8) images of your best work.

We are interested in learning what inspires you to be creative, and how you make use of the resources and technology available to you, no matter what those might be. We want to see work that represents where you hope to go in the program and your potential to succeed. Though you may include examples of work from past years, we encourage you to be selective and submit mostly current, fully-realized works. Quality is more important than quantity. In other words, submit works that are meaningful to you and that you feel proud of. Most importantly, show us your passion, individuality, and experimentation!

4. Optional Multimedia

You may submit one (1) multimedia file. This multimedia file is limited to 30 seconds. You may also submit a short description (500 characters / approximately 200 words).

By multimedia, we mean video, audio, animation, games, interactivity, code, etc. You may submit one single artwork piece within the file, or a combination of pieces compiled together as a reel. Interactive, gaming, and/or coding projects can be submitted as either still screenshots, or time-based multimedia format.

My Portfolio

Self Portrait

joanna_wan_chen_draft_18.jpg

joanna_wan_chen_draft_18.jpg | 2020

Description: Shaped by the digital landscape of the 21st century, my Chinese American background, and my constant introspection, I am one with a million open tabs in my mind, a never-ending to-do list, and a desire to self improve. I express my chaotic inner thoughts through art and writing and am still piecing together who I am and who I want to be. My identity and who I am is still a work-in-progress, but this is where I am at at the age of 18.

Scrapbook Paper Collage with 3D Elements

24.00 X 12.00 X 1.00 IN

Variable: Y

Word Project

The word that I had to respond to for the Spring 2021 cycle was the word “HALT.”

Tones of the Pandemic

Tones of the Pandemic | 2020

Description: We have not halted. Still learning, still growing, the pandemic does not stop us in our tracks. Even under harsh conditions, we are learning how to embrace gratitude and patience, how to become our own best friends, and how to cherish our relationships. We are opening our eyes to the injustices of our world, developing a greater understanding of what needs to change, and becoming better versions of ourselves. A global pandemic no doubt places stop signs on the streets of our usual routines, invoking hatred and pain. However, that does not halt our journeys of growth and development.

1851 X 1200 X 0 PX

Variable: Y

Unique Works

D I S T O R T I O N

D I S T O R T I O N | 2020

Long Exposure Photo Collage

1920.00 X 1080.00 X 0.00 PX

Variable: N

NONsense

NONsense | 2021

Paper Sculpture, Photography

18.00 X 24.00 X 0.25 IN

Variable: Y

Regret.

Regret. | 2020

Paper Sculpture

18.00 X 24.00 X 2.00 IN

Variable: Y

thgiL tnereffiD a rednU neeS

thgiL tnereffiD a rednU neeS | 2020

Pen, Ink, and Acrylic on Paper, Sunlight

9.00 X 12.00 X 0.00 IN

Variable: N

in a world divided by red and blue

in a world divided by red and blue | 2020

Ink, Marker, Paper Cutting on Metallic Paper

8.50 X 11.00 X 0.00 IN

Variable: Y

Multimedia

Videos were capped at 30 seconds so I submitted a clip from an animation I made in June of 2020. I can’t locate the video file on my computer so I will include a link to the entire video instead; keep in mind that I only submitted the clip starting from 0:34 and ending at 0:59.

Truce | 2020

Description: Snippet from a hand animated lyric video for the song “Truce” by Nathan Nzanga. Created in support of the Black Lives Matter Movement.

Tips & Advice

Tips for Change of Major Applicants

1. Take DESMA 10 and DESMA 8.

Both of these courses are offered to non-majors and fulfill GE Requirements. Make sure to attend office hours for these courses and ask lots of questions. Getting to know your professors will allow you to better understand what the program consists of and what type of students they seek to attract.

2. Ask the professors for feedback on your portfolio.

Most professors are happy to take a look at your work and provide some feedback if they have time. I ended up asking both my DESMA 10 and my DESMA 8 professor to provide me critiques on my portfolio during office hours. Through their feedback, I removed a few pieces and I worked on improving my pieces before submitting them.

It’s quite daunting to put your work out there especially if it’s the first time. But realize that you are here to learn and here to take advantage of the feedback they give. You’ll also want to start getting used to putting your work out there as you’ll have critiques for every studio course and because feedback is crucial for growth.

Tips for the Portfolio

1. Start on the portfolio as soon as possible!

I knew that I wanted to transfer into DMA the second I got accepted into UCLA; therefore, I began working on my portfolio during the summer of 2020. By working on I mean I started to jot down ideas and take into consideration what type of work I would need to make for my portfolio. I don’t think I actually started really working on physical pieces until late November of 2020, but it never hurts to start earlier.

I was pretty stressed out for the first two weeks of January 2021 because I didn’t think I allotted enough time for my portfolio. I did use some older pieces, but I tried to create new pieces or upgrade my older ones.

2. Documentation is half of the work.

Let me tell you, documentation of your work is an absolute pain, so that’s also why you want to start early. Finding good lighting to take good pictures, editing them, and adjusting lighting or cropping, and then exporting them to make sure it fits the requirements of (1) being a JPEG, (2) being less than the size limit of 1920 pixels horizontal x 1200 vertical, and (3) being no greater than 3 MB, takes a LOT more time and effort than you would expect.

Check the composition and the lighting of your photos and find ways to show off your work effectively and under the best light possible. One tip that might be helpful to you was one I received from a DMA professor when I asked for critique on my “NONSense.” piece; he mentioned that I should find a way to better showcase the size of the canvas as you couldn’t tell from the original image. To do so, I instead posed with the piece to show its true size.

3. Look at DMA’s Undergraduate Gallery.

Not only does this help you discover what type of work they might be looking for, this is also a way for you to gauge whether or not DMA is the program for you. Look at the work and observe the variety of mediums, voices, and methods of documentation there are. Ask yourself if this is the type of work you would like to be creating and experimenting with for the next four years.

A helpful question a DMA alumni raises is “Can you do better than current students? If you replaced the thumbnails in the student gallery with your own images, will they shine in the crowd?”

My professor after viewing my “Tones of the Pandemic” piece mentioned that it was closest to what students would create in the program right now. He mentioned even taking it a step further and making it into a website and adding sound; however, due to the time constraint, I did not have a chance to do so before the deadline. (But it is now a project on Instagram! @tonesofthepandemic if you would like to check it out!) Nonetheless, it does go to show that the type of work that currently exists in the gallery is work they are looking for.

4. Try to stray from sending in any generic artworks.

One of the things the professors stressed when I asked them for tips was to stray away from mainstream styles, popular trends, and just work anybody can create. This includes technical drawings, landscape paintings, manga drawings, and unoriginal characters. I would say it could be okay if your work falls into some of these categories, but make sure to have your own spin on it and to take the idea further.

Ask yourself: Can your work be created by anyone? Is it your unique style? Is it informed by your background, your experiences, your interests, and your personality? If not, how can it be?

5. Don’t be afraid to be experimental!

Make use of unconventional materials! Come up with untraditional and bold ideas! Show that you aren’t afraid to try new things! They are looking for risk-takers and not rule-followers. They don’t want a class that’s only filled with standard portrait photographers or 3D modelers. Additionally, make sure to have variation in your media to show a diversity of interests and approaches.

6. Reminder of quality over quantity.

Another thing is that I only submitted the minimum of 5 unique works despite having other works I could’ve submitted to reach the 8 image maximum. I didn’t feel as if some of my other pieces were as good of quality or as impressive or eye-catching. So don’t feel pressured to make more than 5 unique works; focus on the quality, the work, and the thought you put into each one instead.

7. They want to see expression over perfection.

They aren’t looking for the person with the best technical skills or the person who can perfectly copy the human face. They want to see work that tells stories, work that pushes the boundaries of design, and work that they haven’t seen before. Be provocative, be thoughtful, and be unafraid to show off more vulnerable or crazy parts of yourself.

I had a lot of doubts about my own work because I didn’t think any of my design or artistic skills were up to par. But I made sure to focus on expressing my interests and myself over creating a perfect product.

8. Definitely a repeated statement, but make sure to express yourself in your work!

Really think about who you are as a person and what inspires you and what has shaped you. Only when you express yourself in your own work do you create work that is genuinely unique.

Express your passions and a sense of curiosity in your work. They want to know that you are trying to express yourself as a person, as a learner, as a person, and as an artist.

Additionally, note that your self portrait is not about how realistic it is, but about how well you are able to convey yourself to a viewer. Ask yourself what your portrait conveys about you and compare it to what you are trying to convey about yourself.

9. Create work based on your interests.

Submit work that shows where YOU want to go in the program. Don’t submit acrylic paintings or color pencil drawings or figure drawings if that’s not what you want to do in the future. Create art based on the questions you are interested in pursuing.

Also think about what social issues you are also interested in. Is it mental health stigma? Is it police brutality? Is it racism? Is it sexism? Is it climate change? Is it the political divide? Is it wealth disparity? Is it school shootings? Brainstorm an entire list about what makes you mad and what changes you are willing to fight for. Find a way to bring those furies to life through your work and to convey what’s important to you.

10. Have fun and try not to stress yourself out!

This one is probably the most difficult task. It gets very very very, and I mean VERY, easy to compare yourself and doubt yourself. DO NOT let the work other people create affect how you perceive your own talents and your own work. Focus on creating work that only you can create.

There is more than one way to get into the program and everyone’s application is going to look different. There is no model applicant. Again, they don’t want a class of the same students that are perfect at everything, they want variety and diversity. Show off what makes you unique!

And in terms of having fun, I’ll leave you with a quote from a former professor:

Have fun. You should enjoy for the first time putting your work together as a body of work that represents you and writing a statement that supports this. If you’re not having fun and don’t feel empowered by this process, you’re not doing it right.

Additional Resources

DMA Specific

  1. DMA Undergraduate Gallery
  2. Accepted Portfolio Video by Dyllen Nellis on YouTube
  3. Accepted Portfolio Video by Sid Draws Stuff on YouTube
  4. DMA Faculty Portfolio Tips & Application Advice

Here’s also a picture of the notes I took back in Fall of 2020 on the DMA Faculty Portfolio Tips & Application Advice:

Notes taken on DMA Faculty’s Portfolio Tips & Application Advice

Other Programs

If you’re hoping to study something similar to DMA in your undergraduate career, but aren’t sure of what other programs are out there, I’ve listed some other programs I was considering applying to in case you’re interested.

  1. University of California Davis’s Design Program
  2. University of California San Diego’s Interdisciplinary Computing and the Arts Major
  3. University of Southern California’s Iovine and Young Academy
  4. University of Colorado Boulder’s Creative Technology and Design Program
  5. Carnegie Mellon University’s Design Program
  6. Georgia Tech’s Industrial Design Program
  7. New York University’s Interactive Media Arts Major
  8. Rhode Island School of Design & Brown University Dual Degree
  9. Yale University’s Computing & The Arts Major

Closing Thoughts

This was an absolute beast of an article to write, but I really wanted to make sure it was informational, comprehensive, and somewhat entertaining to read. It’s also my first Medium article so I would love your feedback and any additional questions you might have about the process, the program, or about me! I would love to hear from you and help out in any way that I can.

Having gone through it myself, I know the portfolio process is quite stressful and there’s not a lot of resources out there. Therefore, please don’t be afraid to reach out over Instagram (@j.chenwan) or over email (j.chenwan@gmail.com)! Please come say hi! I swear I don’t bite… usually…

Anyways, thank you so much if you actually read this article from beginning to end! If you would like to accompany me on my journey as a young designer and as a DMA student, feel free to follow me on here or on YouTube as well. I’m hoping to post both more before I return to school and document more of my journey in the actual program.

I believe in you and best of luck on your portfolio! Have a wonderful rest of your day :)

With Love,

Joanna

--

--