What Happens When An Author Reads a Classic But Doesn’t Like It?

J.L. Pattison
The Writer’s Sanctuary Publication
4 min readFeb 10, 2019

--

Confession time.

There’s an unwritten rule that says the literary world possesses certain books all authors must love and laud (even if secretly, they’ve never read them).

Just like a painter who doesn’t like Picasso or Monet, or a classical musician who doesn’t like Bach or Mozart, if an author doesn’t like a book that’s been deemed a classic, then he must be unrefined, or worse . . . uncivilized.

Courtesy of Sebastian Voortman via Pexels

In my case I’d been wanting to read a particular book for a few years, not just because it was a book that I was interested in, but also because I heard other readers rave about this literary work, and it was oftentimes referenced by other authors in their books, articles, and essays, especially as it related to the current times we live in.

So, a few years ago I finally purchased the book, moved it from my to-read list to my currently reading list, sat down in a comfy chair, and prepared to embark on the incredible journey this book was sure to take me on — an adventure that many had traversed before me.

But there was one problem.

As I began my journey with great hope and anticipation, I quickly discovered myself slugging through the slough of prose, disappointed not only in how the story was written, but in the…

--

--

J.L. Pattison
The Writer’s Sanctuary Publication

Called "A 21st Century Rod Serling," JL Pattison is the author of 4 books of contemporary speculative fiction for modern-day thought criminals. JLPattison.com