The beauty of a night in O’hare

Jenny Manning
2 min readJan 9, 2015

--

Current Location: O’hare Airport

Current Time: 2:50am

I find myself stranded in the airport overnight. This should upset or frustrate me, but instead I seem to be taking a more Dicken’s point of view. Instead of getting outraged, I feel distant from the whole situation, removed, a mere observer.

There just seems something poetic about it all. The television currently has a story about an ongoing high speed chase in Paris, yet people nearby are snoozing. There’s two little girls who are making this in a great adventure and exploring. Benches made as art are filled with people sleeping. If you’ve never been to O’hare, there is an entire hallway filled with art like below.

Currently, it is also filled with individuals sleeping in front of strangers. They are putting themselves in their most vulnerable state and just hoping for the best. All of them have such different stories reasons for being here; so far, I've encountered a gentleman who was trying to visit his son before he went back to college, a woman trying to meet her lover in London, an entire orchestra just returned from a month long tour in China. The list continues. I need to sleep, yet I can’t help the curiosity to learn more about these strangers. My curiosity will have to stay unsatisfied though, instead I just get to observe. As I said, how very Dicken’s of me.

--

--