The Value of Gratefulness: Why Satisfaction Isn’t the End Goal

Jace England
3 min readFeb 26, 2023

--

I read this quote at exactly the right time.

From Lexica.art

I am in a great place in life.

  • I have a job that allows me to travel every week making good money doing creative work while in college
  • I have minimal expenses and my tuition is paid for
  • I am finally pulling the trigger on business’s that I have wanted to start
  • I am in amazing shape and more disciplined than ever

But yet I yearn for more.

I’m a mix of wanting to be more successful that I am, and wanting to compound my efforts for near future success.

In fact, a lot of people envy me, but it’s always a battle of what I can do better.

Photo by Anthony Tori on Unsplash

Right now my current goals lie along:

  • A monthly income >$10k
  • Living independently in New York City by July
  • 2x growth in my business by July
  • Specific growth in social media engagement by July

I am very grateful where I am right now. I get a lot of time to think, but I find a hard time finding happiness. It’s hard to be content.

To be successful, I find comfort is the wrong way to go.

I also see people around me who aren’t doing much with their life, and they’re going to be living full of regrets later.

I think the key is to find the perfect balance between being disciplined to the highest extent, and staying away from anxiety as much as possible.

Although you can leverage anxiety, it can be crippling as well.

Practicing Gratitude for Success

Gratitude brings me back to reality. This allows me to enjoy my situation, even though it’s not my ideal.

Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

I thank God and the universe for everything in my life.

Gratitude has made me stronger and gives an indication that i’m ready for more challenges.

Either way, it’s hard to be grateful, but I am able to do it, and I see abundance.

“When you are grateful, fear disappears and abundance appears.” — Tony Robbins

The main thing i’m going through in real time is the enjoyment of my youth.

Photo by LOGAN WEAVER | @LGNWVR on Unsplash
  • Enjoying the journey
  • Enjoying the characteristics developed through pain
  • Embracing perseverance
  • Loving the people around me

And being extremely grateful.

--

--

Jace England

Travel creator and Solopreneurship | Teaching and learning mindfulness through the beauty of success, multi-skill, and competence.