Block or Debate?

Jackson Ariels
3 min readJun 29, 2024
Photo by Peggy Anke on Unsplash

I must’ve ruffled some feathers… I shared my post “Are There Multiple Gods” and someone blocked me. I realize bringing up religion is controversial. When you disagree with someone’s stance should you block them, ignore their article, or debate them?

I stated in an earlier article that when I write about something religious I am not trying to preach. I respect that other people have different beliefs and ask them to respect mine. I saw more cultures by the time I was 10 than most people do in their life. I’m used to people having different religions. Stating that I’d like you to respect my beliefs doesn’t mean you have to agree with me and it doesn’t mean I don’t want to hear your beliefs. I welcome comments about what you believe, which some of my followers gave.

There were some comments from people who agreed with me and there were some who disagreed. I didn’t remove any comments either way. My opinion of the person who commented didn’t change based on them having a different opinion from mine. That is what my posts on religion are… my opinion. I realize my belief could be wrong. I have no proof of my religion. I believe what I was brought up with, but with a different interpretation of some of the scripture.

I’m not stuck in my ways though. I have an open mind and love hearing other interpretations. I would much rather see a debate than for someone to just…

--

--

Jackson Ariels

High functioning autistic who grew up different from most and has different views from most.