24 Tinder Lines That Actually Work(ed on me)

Jackie Rapetti
4 min readApr 16, 2020

--

Disclaimer: I’m still single. BUT… these openers had me considering the alternative.

I recently wrote a piece that included a variety of mediocre opening lines 31 different Tinder matches have tried on me. Did you know how many different ways there are to say “hey”? Simply add a few more y’s and you’ve got yourself a killer opener! Not.

While those lines didn’t do the trick, the following 24 openers got the ball rolling. Some even landed dates!

Before we get down to it — for some context––here’s my first photo and bio on Tinder:

Bio: “Native New Yorker. Resident silly goose. Wannabe stand-up comedienne but too busy falling down. I love cheese and jokes and cheesy jokes!”

Aaaand here we go…

  1. “Who are your favorite comedians?”
  2. “Hey! What part of New York are you from?”
  3. “Hey Jackie, your bio is killing me! Do you ever do stand-up around here?”
  4. “I love your glasses!”
  5. “Do guys get intimidated because you’re funnier than them?”
  6. “Top 3 stand up comedians, go!”
  7. “Hey, Jackie! A pleasure to meet you. What part of NY are you from? I was born in Buffalo.”
  8. “If you had to choose between ever owning a home, getting married, or having kids, which would you give up?”
  9. “Have you heard about the kidnapping at kindergarten?”
  10. “Why did the cow jump over the moon?”
  11. “Fan of cheesy jokes? We’ll definitely get along. Nice to meet ya, Jackie. I always felt like they should have a shirt that says, I don’t need condoms. I have dad jokes. Pretty sure it would sell. What are two truths and a lie about yourself?”
  12. “I’m personally a hard cheese guy myself, you?”
  13. “What did the lonely baker say to the cheesy writer?”
  14. “Alright, you’re at an extremely hypothetical Tinder opener message party. It begins kinda flat and the host tells you, ‘Jackie, this party needs energy’ and hands you the aux cord. (cheese isn’t an option) What do you play?”
  15. “You’re very gouda nuff to swipe right on. (crowd erupts with laughter — drops the mic — ultimate cheese joke success).”
  16. “What’s your best cheesy joke? Or favorite cheese?”
  17. “Just bought a book called 101 jokes about hamburgers. Please enjoy this gem: why was the hamburger in the fridge embarrassed? because he saw the salad dressing.”
  18. “Hey Jackie! If you could shrink any animal down to the size of a chihuahua and have it as a pet, what would you go with?”
  19. “Well damn Jackie. I didn’t know tinder was an art museum but I’m talking to a masterpiece. And that was the cheesiest pick up line I could think of, you’re welcome?”
  20. “Hi Jackie, how are you? What kind of comedy do you do?”
  21. (see below)

22. “Nice try on the monument pic, you were so close to putting your finger on it…not!”

23. “Oh man stand up comedy haha. That’s very brave of you. Do you have any shows coming up?”

24. “Would you rather watch a documentary or a horror movie?”

So, WHY did these lines elicit a response out of me?
Because of the many, many “hey” “heyy” and “hi :)” messages I get, these ones actually stood out! Many of the above messages referenced my profile which displays interest — oh, this guy took the time to actually read my bio! I cannot tell you how many initial messages I get with dudes asking me where I’m from. It’s the FIRST line in my bio!

Additionally, these fellas used proper spelling, grammar, and full sentences for the most part. While I’m not asking for a novel, it’s nice to see men put some thought behind their initial message–even if it is a short one-line joke!

If you’re looking to get more replies from matches, you may not want to use the above lines as they’re super specific to MY profile. Although, cheesy jokes seem to serve as universal ice breakers.

Take time to ask relevant questions and comment on specific photos to show that you’re genuinely interested in your match. And if you’re still unsure what to say… there’s an app for that. Because there’s an app for everything these days.

Charmed allows you to share Tinder profiles and conversations with your closest friends and family. Your coupled-up friends can even join in on the fun, giving you great opening lines so you can kick things off with your hottest new Tinder flames.

What do you consider a great opening line on dating apps? What’s your go-to conversation starter? Let me know in the comments!

--

--