We Love You Kid :)

Jacki Sage Art
4 min readJan 6, 2023

Day #6 of 100 days of Wellness. I will continue studying the yoga sutras and I hope you will enjoy them along with me. As I continue to report on my 100 days of progress (and setbacks, let’s be realistic!), there is much more to share.

A New Dawn for Yoga Sutra #6 (5, 6 & 7 actually)

Unfortunately, I jumped ahead of myself and listed the five kinds of mental modifications along with yoga sutra #5.The actual listing of these mental states happens to be solely sutra #6. Number five is just that they exist! In contemplation, there is a slow studied repetition! We know our mental state will always be set in one of the five below. The main point to remember is discipline. Yoga is a practice and a discipline.

Book 1, Sutra 5: There are five mental modifications, either painful or painless.

Book 1, Sutra 6: They are right knowledge, misconception, verbal delusion, sleep, and memory. (Satchidananda, Swami. The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali — Integral Yoga Pocket Edition: Translation and Commentary by Sri Swami Satchidananda. Integral Yoga Publications.)

Sutra #7 speaks directly about conscience thinking, about factual knowledge. I had a real-time experience this evening on a zoom parent support group. Sophia, the facilitator, said things that resonated deeply with me. There were many hard truths shared by parents learning to practice “detachment with love,” which is an ALANON concept of distancing from your loved one struggling with addiction and mental issues like anger and self-esteem. If you are a parent dealing with teens struggling with life, academically, socially, or both, here is what you might say to your child who needs direction and support but not from you; You might say,

“I don’t know how to make the best decisions for you now. It’s killing me to watch you struggle. We have loved you completely and will always love you. We’ve given you opportunities to be your best self, and now we need your cooperation. We support you in finding the right help to offer you the best care.”

We hear you. We see you. We are here with you. Everyone has had trauma, and all trauma, no matter what, is valid. You can share your trauma so it can heal, and we can understand it. Even if you think it is too much for us to bear or too little to be significant, it’s not, and we can! We love you.

The three C’s of addiction were mentioned tonight, and it was necessary to hear. 1. I didn’t cause it. 2. I can’t cure it. 3. I can’t control it. We want and need to help you love yourself. Love yourself, and it will all work out. We support your recovery. Let us help you find the things that make your heart sing. Enjoy yourself! There’s so much to explore.

Here are some resources I have found interesting and informative regarding Trauma: Terry Real speaks about “Breaking the Trauma Cycle” where we learn about the Prefontal Cortex/Adult Mind, verses the sub-cortal nervous system responsible for the fight or flight conditioned and triggered from past trauma and primitive minds and the “Adaptive Child Brain,” which he attributes the findings to his mentor Pia Melody where a child adapts an interpretation of how an adult is perceived Click Here to Here Terry Real Speak.

I also recommend the book, What Happened to You, by Dr Bruce Perry and Oprah Winfrey. And also a wonderful and helpful read by Stephanie Foo call What My Bones Know

So here I am, day five! I’m in the stream of wellness.

Food: No sugar, no carbs, no meat. I will stay on the same course of action with fresh fruit, veggies, and rice cakes with sun butter (no jam!) Soups and light on the dairy. I am getting ready to stop eating dairy… still not ready yet!

Exercise: Morning dog walk. Later, I also got on my mat for 30 minutes! My son, Aaron, joined me for an online vinyasa class. Doing yoga lifted the mood and changed the energy of the day.

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Live in the sunshine, swim the sea, drink the wild air.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

“The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate, to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Doing my best to stay light and share love,

LoveLife, Jackie

--

--

Jacki Sage Art

Sharing my life experience to help others find more healing and freedom in their lives. Loving Mom, Artist, Writer, Massage LMT, TM, Yoga Teacher, Vedas