Awkward Autism and My Writing

Jackie Schuld
2 min readFeb 22, 2024

When I write an essay, I pour out my thoughts.

When my thoughts are done, I stop.

Sometimes that happens before I have a proper conclusion.

Ok, most times it happens.

So once I run out of my thoughts, I then pause to examine any loose ends. I also check to see if there could be any misinterpretations (I’m sure I still miss a ton).

I then try to give things a heavy dose of reality. Like if I notice an essay is too positive, I put it in context.

Illustration from my book Therapy Private Practice

The same if an essay is too heavy. I’ll also try to bring it back to the middle in some capacity.

Other times, I have no idea in hell how to conclude an essay.

All I have is an abrupt ending.

I could just leave it at that and embrace by abruptness, but I dislike it when other authors do that. It feels like a cliff hanger and I’m left with a sinking feeling. I don’t want others to feel that way.

This ties to many other contradictions in my autistic self. Where I want things a certain way, but I don’t provide those things to others either.

I’ve written about it many times, such as in my essay about my hypocritical eye for detail.

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.