Dearest Future Art Therapist Who Feels Overwhelmed by It All,

Jackie Schuld
3 min readAug 4, 2022

I was once in your shoes.

It take a lot to become an art therapist.

First, there’s the prerequisites to get into graduate school for art therapy: an undergraduate degree, 6 classes in art, 5 in psychology, a portfolio of art, and an application that highlights it all.

Then there is deciding what kind of art therapy program you would like to do (Art therapy? Expressive art therapy? A counseling degree with a concentration in art therapy?)

Then there is the program itself, which includes anywhere from 20–30 courses and an internship (and sometimes two depending on the program you select).

I say courses like it’s a simple thing. You know it means so much more: textbooks, weekly meetings, essays, papers, research, tests, and more.

“Many Components” Marker by Jackie Schuld

It’s a lot, and that’s before we even talk about the cost.

Or what it takes after you graduate to become an independent art therapist (lots of paperwork, supervision, and more).

I’m not trying to overwhelm you even more. I just want to acknowledge the reality of your situation and WHY it feels overwhelming.

I was also once there.

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.