Jackie Schuld
1 min readAug 12, 2022

--

Hi Camellia! I would also love to read such an article. Unfortunately, I am not the one to write it because I am knowledgeable enough about the intricacies of all the types of therapy.

Furthermore, the majority of therapists practice an "eclectic" approach, meaning they blend all of the things they've learned through school, life, personal experience, and additional training into their own therapeutic approach. So they might employ a few CBT strategies here, a little bit of exposure therapy there, a little bit of transpersonal there. I know very few therapists who only practice one pure form of therapy.

What concerns me is that the majority of therapy approaches were designed for neurotypical people. This does not mean we need to throw the approaches out, but we certainly need to view them with a neurodivergent lens to determine if they would be appropriate for the neurodivergent client sitting in front of us.

Clearly, your question got me thinking, because I was also thinking about how our culture holds neurotypical standards of appropriate behavior, and I think it is harmful when therapists also hold neurodivergent people to these standards of what mental health looks like for neurotypicals. Hmmm, I shall probably write an essay on that!

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.