Moving Through Tax Fears in Private Practice

Jackie Schuld
3 min readApr 28, 2022

When I started my art therapy private practice in 2020, I did everything I could to ensure my business got off to a solid financial start. I made a budget, I did my own internal work to release unhelpful beliefs and patterns around money, and I sought financial guidance.

I had heard horror stories of other business owners getting hit with huge tax bills, so I acted proactively and hired an accountant to do quarterly tax estimates that I faithfully paid.

The year went smoothly and I enjoyed financial security. I paid off my car loan and teeth debt (root canals aren’t cheap). I bought my own health insurance. I made monthly investments in my Roth IRA. I felt like a grown ass woman.

“Storm of Emotion” Acrylic Painting by Jackie Schuld

Then I was informed by my accountant in 2021 that his quarterly estimates were off and I owed $5000 in taxes.

My security was gone. My trust was gone.

I had intentionally met with a recommended accountant and paid in advance to AVOID a big tax bill.

It was unsettling and unnerving. It felt like the financial peace I had built for myself was eroding.

I found a new accountant who was considerably more expensive and recommended by a financial advisor. The accountant met with me for a consultation, and I was overwhelmed by all of the…

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.