Neurotypical Words That Don’t Work for Autistic People: Overachieve

Jackie Schuld
2 min readNov 7, 2022

I was recently asked if I have a need to overachieve.

I didn’t know how to answer the question because I didn’t know their definition of the word “overachieve.”

By neurotypical standards, overachieve is when someone does more than what is expected.

It feels like a neurotypical word to me because it assumes a base standard for “achievement.” Everyone has to have the same level of understanding about what it means to “achieve” in order to assert that someone is OVERachieving.

I think “overachiever” also carries the connotation that someone feels they must do more and be more productive. When people discuss it, they usually imply that the individual ties their worth to overachieving. That they need to “look good” and “be successful” in the eyes of everyone else. I’ve seldom heard overachiever in a positive light.

“Negative Connotations of Overachievers” Sketch by Jackie Schuld

So if someone asks me if I have a need to overachieve, it’s actually a loaded question that comes with a lot of implicit judgments.

The trouble is, I don’t play by neurotypical standards. While I do want to meet academic and professional standards provided by the neurotypical world, I am farrrrr more driven by my autistic mind.

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.