Redefining Fun for Autistic Adults

Jackie Schuld
3 min readOct 5, 2022

Our neurotypical culture holds a pretty narrow view on what constitutes fun. Most depictions of “fun” include a group of people doing something together. Some examples include:

  • Sitting around and talking and laughing with a group
  • Going to parties
  • Playing games in a group
  • Getting drunk with others
  • Dancing with others
  • Doing something spontaneous or reckless with a group
  • Going on adventures with people

In contrast, activities done alone are seldom depicted as “fun.” They’re shown as solitude, obsession, or some other emotion.

  • A peaceful walk on the beach
  • A possessed painter who stays up late into the night making their next painting
  • A workaholic who works too much outside of work
  • A solitary knitter who quietly makes her next creation while watching a show

They’re seldom depicted as fun.

Before I knew I’m autistic, I thought I needed more people in my life to have more fun. I thought I needed to find people willing to do the hobbies and random passions that I have. I knew I could peaceful or content on my own … but fun?! That took people.

Turns out though, it doesn’t. It simply takes reframing fun.

It suddenly dawned on me recently, when I wrote a letter to the emotion Joy

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.