Self-Identification of Autism and ADHD: An Interview with Jean Grey

Jackie Schuld
8 min readOct 9, 2023

Welcome to my interview series about combined autism and ADHD. My interview questions are in bold and Jean Grey’s responses are in italics.

How did you learn you’re autistic and ADHD?

Last February 2022, at age 32, I had the earth quaking realization that I was Autistic in addition to previously being diagnosed with ADHD. I was in the middle of transferring my kids to a new school after moving across the country. My oldest needed to have a brand new assessment in the new school in order to get services for her needs since being diagnosed Autistic for several years and having an IEP in public school. I decided to look online for resources about teenagers and autism, when I discovered support groups and resources for adults with late realized autism. I began piecing together and self diagnosing with the same assessments my daughters school provided, as well as what other Autistic adults were sharing. Within just a few weeks I was very sure I was Autistic, as well as my youngest child. I’d already suspected my kids had ADHD like me and that the oldest was Autistic. Hearing other Autistic adults share the comorbidities, how all their kids were neurodivergent and how through that they realized they were (and even their own parents and grandparents probably were too) put me at so much ease! It was more helpful and hopeful for me than any Doctor or Organization I’d ever spoken with about my oldest childs diagnosis since she had been a toddler. I was just mind blown and it began…

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.