The 9 Non-Fiction Books I’m Simultaneously Reading

Jackie Schuld
3 min readOct 14, 2023

I love non-fiction. It’s basically the only thing I read.

However, not all non-fiction is created equal. Some books are just more gripping, like Bad Blood which I basically read in one sitting.

Other books are better at providing direct information in short, digestible chapters, like Free Time.

Some books are so interesting that I just can’t put them down, like Educated and Hey, Hun.

Then there are the books that are slow going. The ones that you’re not sure if you’re going to finish, but have just enough promise that you occasionally take another crack at them.

That’s how I’m simultaneously reading nine. None of them grip me enough to devote all of my attention, and yet none have merited me giving up and placing them in the donation box.

For example, Drama Free has some insightful points about handling family dynamics. I pick it up whenever I’ve had a particularly frustrating family interaction. However, there’s not enough helpful information to keep me reading in one sitting.

I also picked up a slew of self-help books that are exceptionally wordy. They are The Intuitive Way, The Four Pivots, Radical Belonging

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.