The Impact of Someone Being Around When You’re Autistic

Jackie Schuld
5 min readMay 31, 2024

So right now I’m trying to write an essay. No, it’s not this essay. It’s an essay on a different, rather serious topic.

As I got to work on it though, our guest interrupted and asked if I would like some tea. It was a generous offer, but I didn’t want any. I was in the middle of writing an essay — and when I’m in the middle of a creative endeavor I don’t want to do anything but write. I don’t want any interruptions. I don’t want to have to think about anything else.

As my guest continued moving about the kitchen, I found myself distracted by the various noises. I wondered, “What are they doing now?” and if they needed my help.

Sure enough, a few minutes later they did, as they asked, “Where are the items to make a smoothie?” He wanted to make a smoothie for my husband, who likes to have one every morning for breakfast. Again, it was a generous offer.

I got up to gather the ingredients and show where all of the various machinery was. As I did that, he asked me if I wanted a smoothie as well. Yet another generous offer. But I didn’t want one. I just wanted to get back to my writing.

My declination resulted in a question, “Why don’t you eat or drink anything in the morning?”

I didn’t want to converse on the matter. I woke up this morning and went straight to my laptop to write. That’s how I like it. My mind is most alive, the house is quiet, and I can pour out all of my thoughts.

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.