The Intentionally Left Out Autistic Bride

Jackie Schuld
3 min readNov 16, 2023

I told my family I wanted a simple wedding, and I explained what that meant for me. When I was then hit with a continual barrage of calls, texts, and questions, I became exasperated. I couldn’t handle all of the decisions and back and forth interaction.

As an autistic, making decisions is not my strong suit. Furthermore, I don’t do well in stressful situations, like when money or family emotions are involved.

I sometimes don’t articulate myself clearly. I sometimes say things with an expression on my face that people take personally…

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an autistic/ADHDer and Expressive Arts Therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I write about psychology and share my art here on Medium