The Power of the Home Environment for Autistics

Jackie Schuld
3 min readJan 23, 2023

Living alone has been one of the most deeply healing and transformative experiences of my life.

I was single and living alone through the pandemic, which meant I spent a lot of time in my home, by myself.

It was a wonderful opportunity to learn what I felt like doing. It was also a chance to shape my physical environment to my exact preferences. I had the time to do so, and I didnt have to justify myself to anyone.

I painted my kitchen orange because I love the boost of energy it gives me. My kitchen is connected to my living room, which is where I do my artistic work and writing. I want that extra energy.

I made my bedroom a sea of soft blues. I want to peacefully drift to sleep in there.

Every space of my house is cultivated with pictures, items, and organization systems to enhance how I feel.

Collage by Jackie Schuld

Autistic individuals are hyper-attuned to their environments. While this is normally touted as a negative thing, it is also something that can be used to our advantage. In my case, I tailor my environment to give me the feelings that I want.

My home is so beloved that I let very few people in it. It is my sacred space tailored exactly to me. When I want to socialize, I typically meet people outside my home, such as on a…

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.