To The Girl Wearing Shorty Shorts

Jackie Schuld
4 min readJun 17, 2024

I stood behind you in line at Starbucks yesterday. You were with three of your girl friends, whom I’m guessing were about 13.

Your faded jean shorts were so short that I could see the bottom of your butt cheeks. That’s why I call them shorty shorts. I wonder what you call them.

I was impressed that the fabric somehow still had space for jean holes.

I bet you love those shorts.

Everything about your appearance seemed intentional. From your belly button stud to your acrylic nails to your bleached blonde hair.

Your body looked muscular, as revealed by your shorts and your pink crop top that clung to your body and dipped very low.

Many people are going to look at you with harsh judgment.

They’re going to look at your butt cheeks and think you’re indecent and immodest.

They’ll think you dress too sexy for your age.

Photo by Andy Lee on Unsplash

They’ll wonder who your parents are and how they let you leave the house like that.

They’ll think you’re just trying to attract the attention of boys.

They’ll think you’re shallow for focusing so much on your appearance.

They’ll assume you’re one of the mean girls who is so pretty she gets away with…

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.