Using Art to Help Your Autistic Mind

Jackie Schuld
5 min readDec 19, 2022

As an autistic individual, my mind has a lot of thoughts and I experience a lot of emotions. Sometimes it can be overwhelming.

For most of my life I didn’t know I was autistic. I didn’t understand why I seemed to have more ups and downs than others or why seemingly simple things were much harder for me… and yet some extremely challenging things were much easier for me. There was a lot that didn’t make sense.

Since I didn’t have the tools (i.e. accurate information about autism) to figure it out, I did my best to cope and understand in my own…

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an autistic/ADHDer and Expressive Arts Therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I write about psychology and share my art here on Medium