What Does it Mean to be “Successful” When You’re a Therapist in Private Practice?

Jackie Schuld
3 min readApr 17, 2022

I started my private practice in 2020. My practice grew quickly and within months I had a full caseload, a waitlist of clients, and enough income to meet my financial needs. My grandma told me she was shocked by how well I was doing. Another family member said she was delighted by my “success.”

But what defines success?

Especially when you’re a therapist in private practice?

Is it a full caseload of clients?

Having a waitlist?

Having clients stay with you for a while?

Having clients conclude quickly because they feel better?

Not needing to market because your practice is so full?

Your profit margin?

By all the above measures I was “successful.”

But I was also stressed. And exhausted.

I was seeing 25–28 clients a week, with a total caseload of 40.

No amount of self care was helping (that’s because self care does not fix the root cause).

If the “success” I experienced was tied to the mental and emotional exhaustion I was experiencing, I didn’t want it.

So I made changes. I decreased my client caseload. I joined supportive programs (shout out to Tiffany McClain). I raised my fees. I changed my schedule to my ideal hours. I only accepted clients who…

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.