Why I Write These Essays

Jackie Schuld
3 min readDec 10, 2022

I’d like to say it’s for you, but it’s actually for me.

I write an essay every day.

Why?

Simply put, the things I write about matter to me.

My former sacrificial self would have said I write them “to help others” and improve this or that.

“Writing” Illustration by Jackie Schuld

Those things would be a lovely side benefit, but they’re not my primary motivation.

I write about things that are important to me.

It’s why I’m not niched into one essay topic. I write about grief, psychology topics, private practice, religious deconstruction, art therapy, autism, writing and more.

All the things I care about and have personal experience with. Things I have something to say about.

Frequently, I want to say them because I don’t hear other people saying them. Or because our culture is telling us false things. I don’t agree, and I say so.

I want to point out and name the harmful things.

I want to evaporate the systems, beliefs, and norms that harm us.

That’s why I write essays.

I’m not out to vanquish the entire world, but I can address the things I’ve seen and lived.

--

--

Jackie Schuld

I'm an expressive arts therapist who specializes in late-identified autism/ADHD. I'm also an autistic & ADHDer who loves to write and create art.